We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Restaurant

Catalina Restaurant
Lyne Park, Rose Bay, Waverley, New South Wales 2029, Australia
0293710555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Rose Bay
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the shores of Sydney Harbour on Rose Bay, Catalina is a beautiful, airy light-filled restaurant and bar with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors opening out onto a long curved balcony over the water. In keeping with its harbourside location, the menu features beautifully fresh seafood - Sydney Rock oysters shucked to order; house smoked Tasmanian salmon; whole snapper and barramundi, filleted on the premises - but also a wide range of the best meat and poultry Australia has to offer. A fabulous Australian and global wine list (over 600 wines) and welcoming, attentive service, make this restaurant a must-do Sydney dining experience. Come in all day for the full menu - Catalina doesn't close between lunch and dinner - or graze on bar food overlooking the most beautiful harbour in the world.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had an excellent 3 course lunch at Catalina last week. Our table was originally set indoors, but the sun came out as we arrived and the hostess very kindly offered to move us outside. Great decision, as the day turned out to be spectacular and having lunch overlooking Rose Bay was very special indeed. The food was excellent as was the service. Their wine list is extensive and good value. Try the snapper fillet and the fairy floss dessert - truly delicious.
We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    76
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Had a great leisure family lunch at Catalina on a relaxed Wednesday afternoon. Food was very good, especially the fettuccine nero lobster. Catalina offers a scenic setting overlooking the Rose Bay. The skillful and professional staff. The only drawbacks were the speed of the service as they were slow at times, and our lunch lasted a bit longer than we wanted, and a slightly shabby state of their balcony where the outdoor seating is located. The overall impression however remains very positive: Catalina is a great restaurant, and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy M, Manager at Catalina Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
So glad you enjoyed Catalina, and we do look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As Melburnians, we were looking forward to lunching at Catalina, situated in Rose Bay, just beside the base for the 'flying boats' and the ferry stop. And it truly surpassed our expectations! My earlier request to be seated by the window had been misplaced, but Kate graciously rearranged some tables for us to be seated on the balcony that overlooks the water and the magificent view. Attention by staff was most impressive, and they were all very knowledgeable about the extensive specials menu and the wine list. Nothing was too much trouble - even taking our photos and of the delightful Brisbane couple beside us! The food was sensational, with the grilled snapper on mash the best - and most generous - serving I can recall in a long time. The dessert - panacotta with a passion fruit 'granita' style topping was delicious and refreshing. The Petit fours were a truly delightful selection of fudge, marshmallow and tiny orange-flavoured almond bread; if you don't feel like dessert, try a platter of Petit Fours, at $12 it's a less expensive option to have with tea or coffee. I particularly enjoyed the peppermint tea, which came in a pot - and it was hot and strong! If only other restaurants would provide this!
Some people will consider Catalina expensive, and you'll easily pay around $150 per head for a three courses, petit fours, and one bottle of wine. Ours was a little more because we decided to reward ourselves with a glass of French champagne ($28). After my husband's recent health issue, we were determined to 'celebrate life'. And we couldn't have chosen a better place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best restaurant experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wow, wow, wow!! This restaurant is amazing, from the beautiful setting to the most delicious food, and friendliest, attentive staff...you can't go wrong. The whole experience from start to finish was unforgettable, and we can't wait to go back again. By the way, the desserts are soooooo decadent, don't forget to save room :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Do not go to this restaurant if you wish to converse with friends. The level of noise is so great that any kind of conversation is impossible. The noise completely spoilt our birthday celebration.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy M, Owner at Catalina Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that noise spoiled your day. Unfortunately on the day in question, we were unable to use our external balcony, and furthermore, because of the weather, we had to keep all of our glass sliding doors closed. We had no choice but to seat all bookings inside and the noise levels were higher than usual. Rest assured that we take your comments very seriously and will take steps to avoid this happening in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Catalina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.