We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner at Catalina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Restaurant

Catalina Restaurant
Lyne Park, Rose Bay, Waverley, New South Wales 2029, Australia
0293710555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Rose Bay
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the shores of Sydney Harbour on Rose Bay, Catalina is a beautiful, airy light-filled restaurant and bar with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors opening out onto a long curved balcony over the water. In keeping with its harbourside location, the menu features beautifully fresh seafood - Sydney Rock oysters shucked to order; house smoked Tasmanian salmon; whole snapper and barramundi, filleted on the premises - but also a wide range of the best meat and poultry Australia has to offer. A fabulous Australian and global wine list (over 600 wines) and welcoming, attentive service, make this restaurant a must-do Sydney dining experience. Come in all day for the full menu - Catalina doesn't close between lunch and dinner - or graze on bar food overlooking the most beautiful harbour in the world.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner at Catalina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Last week took a ferry ride to Rose Bay with two friends, who did not know the area. I hadn't been there for at least 20 years.
After looking about the few shops we had a drink at the pub, really friendly people there, then dinner at Catalina.
The staff at Catalina were very friendly and welcoming and the food excellent. We all ordered different dishes and each one was beautifully presented and delicious. We were quite surprised at the size of the meals.... just right, not lapping over the edge of the plate but not the size of a peanut either. We just ordered a side of green beans (with almonds) to share and that was all we needed.
For a restaurant of this quality I felt the prices were just right.
Would certainly recommend Catalina.
We traveled by ferry from Circular Quay and that added to the lovely experience.
The locals at Rose Bay were also very friendly, when we asked directions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    76
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Catalina of Rose Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My daughter took me to Catalina to celebrate my birthday last month. The view was exquisite! Everyone must have decided that it was a beautiful day to be out, because the car park was very full. Great food and great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“LOVE Catalina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Drove to Catalina. In such a busy suburb it was a delight to see there is parking right outside the front door. Have to mention the bathrooms - they are amazing, clean and unique. Lovely to sit there and look out over the water and the outside dining area is beautiful on a nice sunny day.
The interior is decorated with taste and the atmosphere is one of relaxing. When we arrived there was a beautiful long table and the patrons had decorated it with huge pink flowers which just looked lovely.

Staff are lovely and attentive. Food was excellent. I really couldn't fault it. Like anywhere no-one can get it right every time as I can see from some of the reviews but my most recent visit (Nov 2013) and the previous were both excellent experiences.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Food in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The short ferry ride from Circular Quay to Rose Bay deposited us nearly at the front door to Catalina. There is not much else near the restaurant, so do not plan spending any time shopping at this destination. The view across the bay and harbor from the expansive windows were lovely.

All that pales compared to the food and service we found at this wonderful restaurant. The rock oysters were freshly shucked. The lamb was perfectly cooked. The tooth fish (aka Chilean Sea Bass) was the best preparation my wife has ever enjoyed.

The wine list is extensive and covers Australia and France nicely with a few Italian and even US selections. Justin suggested an Australian Shiraz that worked well with both of our diverse main courses.

This was an outstanding way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and I can recommend it to anyone looking for a fine dining experience in Sydney.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy M, Owner at Catalina Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Isn't is wonderful to discover a restaurant you really like when you are travelling? Particularly if it also has a combination of great views, food, wine and service. It's like gold, and I am glad we suited your occasion and met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went to the restaurant by water cab from Circular Quay, a good experience.
The food and wine were excellent and the service efficient. A little pricey but it is hatted.
The menu is mostly fish but there are red meats on the menu. Nice spot and good views.
Tables are set apart and a place for a romantic meal and water taxis ride to complete the romance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Catalina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.