We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to a fantastic long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Restaurant

Catalina Restaurant
Lyne Park, Rose Bay, Waverley, New South Wales 2029, Australia
0293710555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Rose Bay
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the shores of Sydney Harbour on Rose Bay, Catalina is a beautiful, airy light-filled restaurant and bar with floor to ceiling glass sliding doors opening out onto a long curved balcony over the water. In keeping with its harbourside location, the menu features beautifully fresh seafood - Sydney Rock oysters shucked to order; house smoked Tasmanian salmon; whole snapper and barramundi, filleted on the premises - but also a wide range of the best meat and poultry Australia has to offer. A fabulous Australian and global wine list (over 600 wines) and welcoming, attentive service, make this restaurant a must-do Sydney dining experience. Come in all day for the full menu - Catalina doesn't close between lunch and dinner - or graze on bar food overlooking the most beautiful harbour in the world.
Buddina, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great end to a fantastic long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Overlooking the bay, the atmosphere is one of tranquility.
The wine list was extensive. The menu selection is also excellent, as there are so many wonderful dishes to choose from.
The prices are expensive, but the service, the food and the wine will be a long time memory

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    76
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really had a great time.
We started with a 15 minute flight with the seaplane over Sydney then drinks on the terrace and a 3-course dinner. Everything was fab and we enjoyed every single minute. Service was really good and the food delicious. The beef Tenderloin was the best, yummy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sensational Catalina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were a group of 7 for a celebratory lunch on a glorious Sydney day; blue skies, yachts buzzing around the inner Sydney harbour of Rose Bay and here we were; sitting inside a restaurant which cantalevers over the water so you almost feel as though you are actually floating on the water. The service, food, wine ... everything ... and of course the view were just sensational. The head chef and assisting staff demonstrated creative flair infused with an obvious passion for preparing amazing food so it not only looked incredible, it tasted sensational. Servings were a little on the small side but this goes with the 'style' of the presentation and the nouvelle Australian cuisine so typical of these upper end restaurants. What a shame there isn't accommodation attached ... it would make a world-class hotel with the restaurant as a central focal point! Great for celebrations!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, lovely food and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I had lunch at this restaurant today and even though we had a half price voucher from Travel Zoo we were never treated like the poor cousins. We had a table for two beside the window and even though the weather was not the best how can you tire of looking at Sydney Harbour. We had 3 courses and coffee and I noticed from the other table that our plates contained the same amount of food as the rest fo the full paying customers. I spoke to the waiter about the Travel Zoo deal and he said it is to encourage people to come back for maybe an anniversay to which I replied it is actually our wedding anniversary today he wish us all the best and my dessert arrived with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate a lovely gesture. I can highly recommend catalina and we will be back.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“treat me better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Today 5 of us ate here, not for the first time.This visit was very average.Treated with distain, hardly acknowledged. Maybe we looked poor? Wine at 3times it value is ok if you are being looked after well.Food was ok, not special and I had to explain to my guests from Qld that not every restaurant is like this. Great view. If the economy tightens this place is gone.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Watsons Bay, Woollahra
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Catalina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.