We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taronga Zoo

Taronga Zoo
Bradleys Head Rd, Mosman, New South Wales 2088, Australia
61 2 9969 2777
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$38*
and up
Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Mosman
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Taking a ferry directly from Circular Quay to Taronga Zoo, located in the suburb of Mosman, is the first unexpected joy of visiting the animal park. Once there, the leisurely trails and opportunity to see some of Australia's distinct wildlife become apparent, as does the striking view of the Harbour Bridge from the seating at the aerial bird show. Advance booking can give you the chance to see koalas up close, or stay overnight and 'camp' in the zoo.
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an excellent family outing and worthwhile trip. We visited at the end of August and the weather was just perfect! Tickets were pricey and it's worth getting discounted tickets from families or friends. Be prepared to spend the whole day there and not rush through exhibits. A must to visit for first timers!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    495
    147
    37
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A terrific zoo. The Australian Wildlife Exhibit was what we really wanted to see & we had a behind the scenes tour with a zookeeper. She was excellent & the tour was fun & informative. To be able to get close to the kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas & some nocturnal animals was awesome. We got to feed some of the nocturnal animals & we were in the kitchen where their food is stored & prepared. We saw the bird show & the seal show & enjoyed them both very much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Zoo with one hell of a view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Its been years & years since I last visited this iconic Sydney landmark. Bus to Circular Quay, ferry across to Mosman/zoo and then the Gondola ride to the top. The trip here is a visitors dream, perfect opportunity for the pics of the Opera House & Harbour Bridge and the beautiful shoreline views of Sydney Harbour. Blue sky and sun shining.....perfect!!
The zoo is BIG so get ready for lots of walking. A must is a hat/cap and good walking shoes. We also bring our own packed snacks & lunch as the food is really really expensive and plenty of water.
The elephant area is amazeballs, I could sit and watch for hours and so too is the chimp area. The bird show was fantastic and try and make the seal show too. OVerall a fabulous way to spend a day out in this wonderful city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond,WA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great experience but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Taronga Zoo is a must-do if you're not going to one of the out-of-Sydney wildlife parks (which I actually prefer). However, the Zoo is close in to the downtown area and so if you don't want an all day trip to a wildlife park, it is a great option.

To our surprise, the combo harbor ferry-zoo pass wasn't as cheap as a combo Capt Cook Cruises/zoo pass - we'd have thought the city ferries to be cheaper than the private enterprise cruise line.

The 'cuddle a koala' experience is now 'stand sort of close to a koala' - not quite the same thing at all, but perhaps better than nothing.

The gondola ride was great (and costs no more than walking or taking a bus to the main gate, so very recommended).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss the bird show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This zoo really does have a lovely view of Sydney Harbour, especially from the area where they hold the free-flight bird show. The bird show is a must-see!

I unfortunately didn't have quite enough time to wander around at leisure, but I managed to see most of the zoo and I think it's pretty good. Just a pity that most of the animals were slumbering or being lazy in the afternoon sun at the time...

(Side note: I don't quite know how to answer the "What sort of visit was this?" question because I went there with my sisters and parents and aunt, but none of us are teens or young children...)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taronga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Taronga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taronga Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.