We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all sure why the property has such glowing reviews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Miranda

Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Miranda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bonus $20 cafe voucher
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda
Bribie Island, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Not at all sure why the property has such glowing reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First impression? Grungy lobby.
Second
impression? Grubby lifts.

The hotel is very "tired" and even the updated rooms are not much better than barely average, which wouldn't be so bad if the daily rate was more than a tad lower. There is scarcely anywhere to hang/store clothing and the bathroom was not at all well- designed - in fact I found it necessary to go into the main room to get sufficient light to shave by and my wife had similar issues when trying to put on makeup.

TV channel choice? Don't get your hopes up!

All in all, a disappointment.

Room Tip: The "better" (more expensive) rooms have no balconies, nor can you open the windows to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
The guest rooms and bathrooms in the superior rooms where you stayed are excellent, there is a stainless steel hook on the back of the door and a wooden shelf in the bathroom. All rooms have a double glass wardrobe with shelves and a area for hanging clothes. The rooms have huge windows all these rooms are so light and open. Our rate over the week end you stayed here was justified as the hotel was fully booked. Please note the rate is subject to occupancy. I am aware, you have stayed here in the past, perhaps your requirements have not been meet by this Hotel, I thank you for your business in the past and wish you good luck in finding accomodation that suits your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
25
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Metro Hotel Miranda on the 22nd of September, room 408. The room was immaculate with great city views. We arrived after hours as we came after attending a wedding and the service was still great. The manager came straight down to greet us and give us access cards to the lift and our room. After a big day it was a comfort to be greeted so well and with such quick response at such a time. Thankyou to the Metro Hotel Miranda team. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Metro Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our after hours check in, is part of the service we offer at Metro Hotel Miranda. Thank you for your positive feed back in regard to room 408. I do remember your arrival, you were both so tired after your big day. Once again Thank you, I appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was just what we required, we loved the bird life who were accustomed to the balcony, walking distance to great shops and general locality, staff seemed genuinely interested in any room concerns and happy to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Metro Hotel Miranda. I am very pleased the Hotel suited your needs on your school trip.
The location is excellent great shopping and I love the cheeky birds too.
Thank you for your kind words in regard to my staff. This is so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The pictures on the Internet are of the updated rooms only.... So we were a little disappointed when we saw our 1980's room. Great security with internal hallway access to the rooms. The mattresses were thin but still an okay sleep. The shower was tiny with the corner cut out. The room had everything we needed inc microwave and crockery. Would definitely stay again as it was great value

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. Metro Hotel Miranda offers Balcony Queen rooms which are 3.5 star and Superior rooms on the top floor which have a selection of room types from Superior suites to King and Queen rooms, also disabled rooms. A selection of photos from all room types were sent to all websites which offered both Balcony queen and the Superior floor room types. All photos should be showing, I apologise for any mis understanding.
The Balcony Queen rooms are 3.5 star and are clean and comfortable, It can be difficult at times when booking accomodation on websites, however I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All feed back is good, you have brought this to my attention, I will certainly be checking all website to confirm all room types are offered at Metro Hotel Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had booked two rooms and due to an accident we had to cancel the booking on the day of arrival. I contacted the Metro Inn and they explained their cancellation policy which I was already aware of.

When I explained the circumstances they advised a refund would be given only if they were able to "sell" the rooms.

I followed up with an email two days later and attached a certificate from the hospital verifying the circumstances of the no-show. Metro Inn not only responded very promptly to my email and my request for a refund; they did so with much courtesy. If this is the level of service they provide on the phone and via email then I can only assume that the same care will be extended to their guests on arrival and during their stay.

Given the opportunity we would certainly book with Metro Inn again.

Special thanks to Susan (Senior Receptionist)!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Firstly, I hope you are feeling better, and are in good health.
My congratulations to you, as you did every thing in the correct manner.
We were only to happy to refund under the circumstances.
Thank you for your kind words, my ladies all do their very best to look after all our guests.
Hopefully we will meet in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have used the Metro Inn at Miranda twice for business trips, and will use it again if working in southern Sydney. It is an easy walk to the rail station, and there are abundant eateries and other shops across the road. Views from the top floor rooms are great - looks east so you get the sunrise and can see Botany Bay and Towra Point wetlands (of international significance). No noise issues even though there is a busy road below. The top floor rooms are modern and relatively well appointed, with a very good tv, and a high quality bathroom. Breakfasts are basic but good value.

Room Tip: I've only ever used top floor rooms at discount rates through Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Metro Hotel Miranda, the views are wonderful I agree. The feed back from the 4th floor has been very positive, I value your comments. Once again thank you for your kind words, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Wireless facilities are also available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.