We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Miranda

Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Miranda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Miranda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bonus $20 cafe voucher
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda
Exeter, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have used the Metro Inn at Miranda twice for business trips, and will use it again if working in southern Sydney. It is an easy walk to the rail station, and there are abundant eateries and other shops across the road. Views from the top floor rooms are great - looks east so you get the sunrise and can see Botany Bay and Towra Point wetlands (of international significance). No noise issues even though there is a busy road below. The top floor rooms are modern and relatively well appointed, with a very good tv, and a high quality bathroom. Breakfasts are basic but good value.

Room Tip: I've only ever used top floor rooms at discount rates through Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Metro Hotel Miranda, the views are wonderful I agree. The feed back from the 4th floor has been very positive, I value your comments. Once again thank you for your kind words, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
25
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great Location, Clean motel, friendly and helpful staff. 4th Floor very up market.
Great view of Sydney.
Comfortable Hotel The Metro Inn Miranda has an excellent location in the heart of Miranda and is within easy walking distance of Westfield Miranda, Miranda railway station, Miranda RSL Club, the local hotel and local restaurants. If you are looking for clean, comfortable and secure accommodation at a very reasonable rate then look no further than the Metro Inn Miranda as it is great value .

Room Tip: Top Floor Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear New Guest,
Thank you for choosing Metro Hotel Miranda for your accomodation needs.
I am pleased the Hotel met your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope you stay at Metro Hotel Miranda in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carinbah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great Location, Clean motel, friendly and helpful staff, well appointed rooms

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Metro Inn Miranda.
I am so pleased your stay with us meet your expectations. I have a great team of ladies who are employed at Metro Miranda, its all about the people.
Your comments are so appreciated, it makes all the hard work worth while.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I'm a professional musician and I booked the Metro Inn from positive reviews here, but was astonished to have a very loud PA announcements every few minutes reverberating through the hotel of the front desk asking for housekeeping to report in. I stay in hotels ten months a year due to my work and I can honestly say I've never stayed in a place where the guest's peace was shattered every few minutes with such noise. And ironically, there are all these notices in the room asking the guests to be silent. The only noise i heard the whole time I was there was from the front desk person's voice booming through the entire hotel. When I addressed this issue with the front desk, she just said "That's how it is when housekeeping is here." Housekeeping themselves were quiet and polite, it was just the front desk that made so much noise. Kind of like having someone with a bullhorn standing right outside your door saying "Housekeeping on floor two, contact the front desk." I was awaken out of a deep sleep for the first time at 7am. And then continuously after that. I would only recommend this hotel to someone who had no intention of sleeping or relaxing during their stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharlick, Manager at Metro Hotel Miranda, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. Thank you for staying at the Metro Inn Miranda. I appreciate the time you have taken to complete this review.
I do have an issue with your comments as they are not correct.
7am was the first time you heard the PA, that would be very difficult as my reception staff reopen the reception at 7.30am, my house keepers start their day at 8.am.
The PA is not used until 9.am and only if we require the house keepers to contact reception.
I feel your comments are excessive and unfair.
My main concern are to my guests to have a peaceful and quite stay at Metro Inn Miranda are true. All my staff are customer friendly and we all work to the best of our ability to ensure all our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay with us at Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have been staying at the Metro Inn Miranda at different times of the year since 2005 and it has become our second home whenever we visit Sydney. We recently stayed there from Tuesday 27 December, 2011 till Wednesday 4 January, 2012. On arrival we were handed the keys to Room 413 and we believe that we were the first guests to stay in that room. When the lift doors opened at Level 4 we were absolutely blown away with what we saw with the lovely colour scheme and the pictures mounted on the walls depicting the earlier history of the Sutherland Shire.

We could not fault the accommodationat all,the decor was outstanding and very tastefully done. There were tea and coffee making facilities, crockery, cutlery, wine glasses, fridge, microwave oven, toaster, flat screen television, iron plus ironing board, extra pillows, extra blankets and even a safe to store your valuables in!

We took the liberty of looking through some of the other rooms on Level 4 whilst we we were there. We were most impressed with Room 407 which was obviously specifically designed for paraplegics and also has the adjoining room access to Room 408 if need be. We will certainly be highly recommending this to any paraplegic people whom we come into contact with and that are travelling to Sydney.

The Metro Inn Miranda has an excellent location in the heart of Miranda and is within easy walking distance of Westfield Miranda, Miranda railway station, Miranda RSL Club, the local hotel and local restaurants. If you are looking for clean, comfortable and secure accommodation at a very reasonable rate then look no further than the Metro Inn Miranda as it is great value for money.

As we mentioned earlier we have been regular guests at the Metro Inn Miranda since 2005 and we are still dealing with the same staff members today. We have always found the staff to be friendly, courteous and professional in their dealings with us. We will be highly recommending the Superior Rooms on Level 4 at the Metro Inn Miranda to all of our family, friends and work colleagues.


Yours most sincerely,
Bill & Robyn Lambert.
Bucklands Beach
Auckland - New Zealand

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern side have expansive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goulburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Over the past eight years I have chosen to stay at the Metro Inn on many occasions for varied reasons: family,employment, medical and recreational leave.My reason for returning is due to Dale and her staff who are friendly, courteous and professional in their approach to meeting either my individual or family's needs.This is why I choose to return to the Metro Inn as it promotes an overall standard of excellence in this accomodation. The standard of rooms, amenities and environment is clean, comfortable and modern. Our recent four night stay in the newly refurbished room on level four was of a high standard on par with more up market hotels. Parking is readily available on the same level as the front office. The location is in the heart of Miranda, close to Westfield Shopping Centre and surrounding areas of Gymea, Engadine,Taren Point and Cronulla and within reasonable driving distance to Sydney.
Thankyou Dale and staff for making my visits welcoming.
Sue from Goulburn

Room Tip: Some rooms have distant views of Sydney skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as we were picking up a campervan the next day. Not worth the $150, rooms very old fashioned and basic.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Miranda

Address: 522 - 524 Kingsway | Cnr Jackson Avenue, Miranda, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2228, Australia (Formerly Metro Inn Miranda)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Miranda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Miranda 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: 45 minutes south of the CBD, the Sutherland Shire is one of Sydney's Best Kept Secrets. Comprised of several suburbs, this beautiful part of the world has something for everyone. From the beach to the shopping centres to the restaurants all travelers can experience a wonderful holiday without even leaving the city. Comfort, service and value for money are what every guest will experience at Metro Hotel Miranda. Whether for the business traveler or a family on holiday, the Metro Hotel Miranda has a room suitable for every guest. Additional bedding can be added to some room types providing even greater value for money. Situated on the highest point of Miranda, the Metro Hotel Miranda boasts spectacular views over Sydney City and Botany Bay. Providing a home away from home atmosphere for all, the Metro Hotel Miranda has 52 well-furnished guestrooms. Each of the well appointed rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, television, radio, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, hairdryer, telephone, microwave, toaster and en-suite. Wireless facilities are also available in each room. A lounge is also open for all guests to enjoy with tea and coffee making facilities, comfy couch, television, computer, dining room table and a bbq on the balcony. Laundry facilities also available. A cafe is located below the hotel, which is open daily for meals at affordable prices.There is also a Fitness First gym below the hotel which guests can use for a nominal fee.The Metro Hotel Miranda has a strict non-smoking policy in the rooms, however many rooms have a balcony that guests can smoke on. Enjoy a visit from the Cockatoos which visit regularly. For the shop-o-holics, Miranda's Westfield shopping centre, one of Australia's largest shopping and entertainment centres, is adjacent to the Metro Hotel Miranda and is easily accessible from the hotel. Renowned for its warm and friendly service, the staff at Metro Hotel Miranda will ensure your stay is a pleasant and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Metro Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Miranda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.