We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Park Sydney

Luna Park Sydney
1 Olympic Drive, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9922 6644
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$182*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass: Darling Harbour...
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the Magic at Luna Park Sydney! Built in the 1930s, Luna Park is a harbour-side amusement park that still contains traditional midway games and rides. The Park is open year-round; generally every day during NSW School Holidays, and Friday to Monday during the school term. It is advised to check their website for current opening hours. Entry to the park is completely free, and the best way to experience the rides is to purchase an unlimited rides pass. Buy your tickets online and you are guaranteed to save money.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Luna Park is a great day out for the family, There is no entry fee, you will just need to pay for the ride coupons. There is a limited amount of rides, so you wouldnt need to spend a full day there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    198
    139
    45
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned fun fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Luna park is an old fashioned fun fair -- with enough new rides to keep the modern teenager amused fir an hour or so. I would say the target age is between 5 and 10/11

The Coney Island experience is more than enough to keep a 5 to 8 yer old happy for an hour or two.Add to this a few f the kiddies rides and an evening would pass by very quickly.

For the slightly older chikdren the Dodgems,high speed spinning rides and roller coaster are cool enough to keep them occupied for the same period.

If you combine the experience with a ferry from circular Quay then it's a great night out for families of all descriptions

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for kids a horror for adults”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My daughter, my Mum and I went to Luna Park especially for 5 year old; Mum and I are not that keen on crowded, noisy and dirty spaces. The plan was we swap with Mum attending to our little one's fun and minimising our exposure to what we don't enjoy for ourselves. But, oh no! If you want to do that, you have to pay for both accompanying adults: $40 each. What a rip off!!! So, good for kids, and good for squeezing the parents for their cash... So strategisebetter than we did if you can!!!! A really bad feeling!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Luna Park, Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

At Luna Park, Sydney there are rides for all ages including little children or toddlers. The variety of rides spread from the Ferris Wheel to the Dodgem Cars.The park is considerably dirty, with long queues that at most take as long as 45 minutes.However, there is a picnic area and several cafes available to the public.
If your child is thinking of having a party here, party rooms are included at the park. If you are wanting some fun family photos, clowns and characters walk around the park for photo opportunities. Watch out though, some clowns harass until they get their picture taken.
The rides are safe and are built for the guest's safety and enjoyment.
I would not reccommend it to couples-it is best to go with children. The place is a tourist magnet and my own children loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Luna Park Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a must see for our 12year old. I felt it was a bit expensive but the trip over on the ferry was worth every cent! It was enjoyable but we were there at the same time 3 school outings arrived a bit manic but a nice day out. I particularly enjoyed the cocktail in the restaurant overlooking the harbour. I wouldn't rush back but overall a pleasant experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Park Sydney also viewed

Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Luna Park Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Park Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.