We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Dark Fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Park Sydney

Luna Park Sydney
1 Olympic Drive, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9922 6644
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$182*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass: Darling Harbour...
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience the Magic at Luna Park Sydney! Built in the 1930s, Luna Park is a harbour-side amusement park that still contains traditional midway games and rides. The Park is open year-round; generally every day during NSW School Holidays, and Friday to Monday during the school term. It is advised to check their website for current opening hours. Entry to the park is completely free, and the best way to experience the rides is to purchase an unlimited rides pass. Buy your tickets online and you are guaranteed to save money.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“After Dark Fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Purchased the "Lunacy after 6pm" deal from their website. It was a great saving and allowed us to visit other attractions during the day and then have dinner at Luna Park along with the rides. Luna Park is not huge so only a couple of hours are really required.

We had a really good Fish and Chips (with salad) meal for around $13 per person. There were other 'fast food' options but it was really nice to have a good meal at a good price. A very nice way to spend Saturday night in Sydney with kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    198
    139
    45
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“NEW YEARS EVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to go on NYE in Sydney that not only didn't cost a bomb but didn't have huge costs built into their ticket price for booze as neither my husband or I are big drinkers.

We came from Perth just to see the fireworks on Sydney Harbour and thought of Luna Park we hadn't been there on any of our other trips to Sydney and at 125 bucks a ticket it seemed really reasonable.

Our hotel was just near Central station so step one - train to Milsons Point Station, couple bucks and off we went. In no time at all we were at the stop and jumped off its only a short stroll down hill to Luna Park.

The security staff at Luna Park were friendly and in we went.

We had the most awesome night, it was like stepping back in time. Coney Island was fantastic fun going down the massive timber slides in "potato sacks" watching a group of young guys on the whirl trying not to get flung off, the brilliant crazy mirrors. The views across the harbour were to die for but the most fun was on the tango train, the music was loud and pumping the DJ was cranking the tunes and the ride goes so fast forwards and backwards you think you are going to fly off.

We even sat in the swan and went on the carousel which all the young adults were doing as well. There were quite a few older couples in there late 70s who were having a blast.

The fireworks were amazing, inside the Crystal Palace which is like an old ballroom there were DJs pumping out the music and almost a rave going on which we had a great time watching everyone dancing, and had a bit of a dance as well

We would definitely go there again NYE or not the age of the rides and the clown games etc just make it the most amazing place we have been to theme parks all around the place but there is definitely something special about this place.

Recommend for sure

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Luna Park OK for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It is a good place to go if you have children
Not very interesting for adults - apart from the ferry ride which is always
interesting - I could spend all day on Sydney Ferries

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome time for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went there for my daughters 8th birthday. The unlimited rides pass with lunch and a drink ended up being great value for money. It pays to look and book your tickets online prior to going to ensure you get the best deal.
The rides were all open the day we went and the wait was not too long for anything which was great considering we went on a weekend. The roving entertainment was age appropriate for the young ones (we had another 8 year old and 3 x 6 year olds also with us)
The only downside was the inability for the younger (shorter) kids to go on all of the rides. That being said, there was still plenty for them to do.
All of the attendants were friendly and looked like they truly enjoyed their job.
We will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for a bit of fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sure this theme park isn't full of new, exhilarating rides, but it is good for a bit of fun. Coney Island is dated but still fun - good for young kids too. The food is like everywhere else - deep-fried and expensive. I had fun here. Entry is free but if you're going on rides, get an unlimited rides wristband.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Park Sydney also viewed

Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Luna Park Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Park Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.