We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel North Sydney

Save Saved
You added Vibe Hotel North Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Hotel North Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Alfred Street, Milsons Point, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Milsons Point
Northampton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here whilst we were in Sydney and found the location great, there is lots of small eateries in the vicinity (the other side of the railway station) and as you walk up from McMahon pint (the other ferry point across Lavender Bay).
We were there 5 nights but purchased a 7 day ticket for the Metro system which gave you all buses, local trains adn ferries and was the equivalent of two 24 hour passes - so this was very good value for us.
It is worth walking across the bridge one day.
We didn't eat breakfast here, but used the restaurant one evening - make sure you pick up the little information booklet that gives you one main meal free.
I would happily stay here again.
it is i

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear jec01,

Many thanks for letting us know about your stay! You have included some fantastic tips on transport and dining options around Sydney which I am sure other travellers will find most useful.

Thanks again for posting your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel North Sydney in the future.

Regards
Julie Gibson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    242
    146
    50
    21
See reviews for
68
170
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for New Years in Sydney. It is just the other side of the Harbour Bridge making the walk to the main centre of Sydney a pleasant one. It is also conveniently located opposite Millsons Point train station. The staff overall were helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The food in the bar/cafe was good quality if a little overpriced but this is Sydney. The buffet breakfast was also decent quality. The only problem we encountered was we were informed breaksfast was available from 6.30am during the week, and due to us booking a trip to the Blue Mountains we had an early start on Tues 2 Jan. When we went to the breakfast room it was shut. We returned 10 minutes later and it had been opened but only because some other guests who also had an early start had complained! Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear dawn16ac,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about your NYE 2012 stay here at Vibe Hotel North Sydney!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and do apologise about the error in opening hours for Curve Restaurant. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast on this day - even though there were initally some problems.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Vibe Hotel North Sydney in the future

Kind Regards
Julie Gibson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We found the location obviously quite handy and staying six nights this was crucial to get around. Checking in and the staff member seemed distracted and even though we handed over a lot of paperwork/id we really weren't made to be that welcome. On our first night we discovered bugs crawling and when we reported it the next morning they promised to check it out but when we returned that evening no note was made to let us know it had been completed. Being there for six nights it just felt like the rooms weren't that clean hence our concerns regarding bugs/insects being well founded.
We checked in for our airline and paid $6 for the pleasure of printing in the lobby and could not find a log off button but then upon checking out after the staff member commented " are you ready to go" we then were told we "consumed" one hour of internet on the first night we checked in. After explaining like most people we have mobile phones we were told " a third party does it and it's only a hour" we again re-iterated we didn't use it "but we will contact the third party".
So overall we can't fault the location but we felt there really wasn't any "vibe" to our visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillien_Quinan, General Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear EnuffTravelled

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay. I was somewhat surprised to read some of your comments and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused. This is certainly not indicative of the regular feedback that we recieve.

Your comments regarding bugs are alarming. I can assure you that any report we have, we immediately investigate and follow a strict code of conduct to ensure we comply with Australian standards. That being said we are very fortunate not to have had any problems of this nature. I was surprised to read you were not offered a room move to ensure your comfort during your stay and will certainly follow this through with my Team.

With reference to internet our Hotel provides 30 minutes free internet access on your own device each day in our Lobby area. There is also a kiosk available in reception that is $2 for 20 minutes. Other options are available for longer periods in guest rooms.

If you would like to contact me at the Hotel or via email jquinan@toga.com.au I would be more than happy to look into the internet usage on your account.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Vibe Hotel North Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Jillien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Vibe many times for work, it is the closest hotel and it's within walking distance so it's purely based on convenience. The rooms are always clean and I'm generally lucky enough to get a room with a view over Lavender Bay. I don't eat breakfast or dinner here, preferring the many atlerntatives across the other side of the station in Kirribilli. The last time I stayed, I lined up for 25 mins to check out. Whilst the reception staff were apologetic, it really wasn't a positive way to end my 4 night stay. Perhaps they could have offered express check out if they knew they were going to be busy, or put more staff on. Surely they would be able to see by their bookings that it was going to be a busy morning. I'll stay here again, but only because work pays for it. I think it's overpriced and I wouldn't stay here if it was coming out of my own pocket.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lavender Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillien_Quinan, General Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear CassandPaul

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy the location and our wonderful surroudings and that it is close to your work.

I sincerely apologise for the delay in checking out. This is certainly not a common occurence and we certainly do plan rosters around the number of guests arriving and departing each day. I can only imagine that other Team Members were perhaps called away to assist other guests and that this caused this delay.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to Vibe Hotel North Sydney and that your check out is more expedient on that occasion.

Thanks and kind regards

Jillien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Vibe on business, and it was hard work. i got in early on a Thursday from Hong Kong and despite booking for Wed night, the room wasnt ready. I had to spend two hours by the harbour at Milson's Point (which is a tare pleasure just not one i prefer after an overnight flight).

The room itself was basic, and so were the other amenities. Which is fair, for a mid-range hotel i think. They had to struggle to find a travel adaptor and were scrabbling when I asked for an ironing board. I'm not sure if they pitch themselves to be a business hotel - probably not. I wouldn't bank on it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillien_Quinan, General Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Narayanisms

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments have alarmed me somewhat and I would like to discusss matters further with you.

If you pre-registered and paid for the room on the Wednesday night then there should be no reason that the room was not ready upon your arrival on Thursday morning. If this was not the case, please contact me at the Hotel or via email jquinan@toga.com.au to discuss.

I look forward to discussing your feedback in more detail.

Kind regards

Jillien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a room at the Vibe through their website at short notice. We knew it was a good deal, however the room we were given was on the side of the hotel, about 20 feet from the building next door. As we were only there for 1 night we didn't complain, but there was almost no natural light as the building next door was so close.
The room was well appointed and clean, and the bathroom was clean and fresh.
The staff were very pleasant, but appeared to be a bit more focused on their own activities. Having said that when approached they were very helpful.
this hotel is in an excellent location - right near the train station and a short walk up to North Sydney

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the side - very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillien_Quinan, General Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear frothygirl

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Vibe Hotel North Sydney.

We are very fortunate to be located in a wonderful neighbourhood, close to public transport and great road access, not to mention the amazing Sydney Harbour just a short stroll away from us.

Our building is rectangular in shape and has rooms on all sides of the buildings. For a small upgrade fee, guests can opt for rooms that overlook Lavendar Bay or Kirribilli.

We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jillien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days. The hotel has very basic amenities. The common areas (corridors, lobby etc.) are in dire need or a facelift. The room, however, was both clean and comfortable.
This hotel caters mainly to business visitors, but still charges inordinately for internet services

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillien_Quinan, General Manager at Vibe Hotel North Sydney, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear wradhika

Thank your for posting your recent comments following your stay at Vibe Hotel North Sydney.

I was disappointed to read that you were not pleased with our public areas and guest corridors, this is not something we have recieved feedback about before, however I take on board your comments.

We do have different internet options available for our guests. We offer 30 minutes free internet each day in our Hotel lobby using your own device. Computers are also located in the lobby which is priced at $2 for 20 minutes. There are also a range of options available for internet use within your room.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and should you be returning to Sydney in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Jillien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vibe Hotel North Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel North Sydney

Address: 88 Alfred Street, Milsons Point, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Milsons Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Milsons Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel North Sydney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vibe Hotel North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel North Sydney Milsons Point, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Hotel North Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.