We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your travel overseas a little less stressful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Ross Smith Avenue, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Eleebana NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Make your travel overseas a little less stressful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you have to get to Sydney and are flying out in the morning (allowing the check-in time beforehand) you have to consider any traffic snags you may encounter. Better still, stop over at the Formule 1 hotel overnight the night before your travel - you don't have to rise as early, can have a decent breakfast, and catch a shuttle bus to the terminal in plenty of time without the stress of the rush and worry you won't get there on time. Be easy on yourself and enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    395
    474
    193
    129
See reviews for
373
386
299
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

very basic room, good breakfast, no bedside tables, no shampoo in the rooms, carparking costs a tad high for long term in the open weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Don't expect a classic hotel atmosphere - but the service was friendly and we didn't have to unpack our sleeping bags, got an onsuite bathroom and the night was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occassions. Booked a standard triple room for one night both times. Cost $85-90. You're essentially paying for the location and it serves that purpose really well. You can walk from the hotel to the domestic terminal. Takes about 10 mins when dragging your suitcases with you. A shuttle to the international terminal takes 10 mins or so and costs something like $6. These shuttles run very regularly. The rooms are basic. One double bed with a single bunk overhead. The bathroom is small but is fine for a one night stay. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast does the job. It's a buffet with cereal, bread, tea, coffee, etc. Cost $9 - probably cheaper than anything you'll get at the airport.

This is by far the cheapest hotel that we could find this close to the airport. It's a basic hotel in a great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here because of the proximity to the airport, it was not that cheap but it is Sydney so I guess you pay for that. The room was absolutely basic, no extras at all but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. This hotel is a bed before a flight and that is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here as an international visitor arriving and needing a place to recover from jet lag. It was easy to catch the shuttle in from the international terminal ($6) and thankfully my room was empty on arrival so I was allowed to check in early.

The room and bathroom are perfectly adequate and I slept well. Gorgeous hot shower. The breakfast is very scant (cereal and bread) but then it's inexpensive at $9.

The WiFi however is very expensive - $20 for 3 hours (there's no 24 hour option) and my experience of it has been shocking. Desperately slow most of the time and even at 4am it kept dropping access entirely, meaning I couldn't even log out of my session so it kept ticking away without me using it. I spent most of my time talking to the Helpdesk (thank goodness I had an Australian mobile phone already).

Next door are a Krispy Kreme, MacDonalds and KFC. I couldn't eat at any of those but it was an easy 7-minute walk to the Domestic terminal to grab some food.

Overall - great for sleeping and showering and fantastic airport access. Don't depend on the WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are extremely small and so is the bathroom. There are no tea/coffee making facilities and no toiletries provided in the bathroom. It is just a bed for the night prior to departure. The positive is it's closeness to the airport and the availability of the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport

Address: 5 Ross Smith Avenue, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.