We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate hotel - perfect for its purpose but don't expect more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Ross Smith Avenue, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Very adequate hotel - perfect for its purpose but don't expect more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here as an international visitor arriving and needing a place to recover from jet lag. It was easy to catch the shuttle in from the international terminal ($6) and thankfully my room was empty on arrival so I was allowed to check in early.

The room and bathroom are perfectly adequate and I slept well. Gorgeous hot shower. The breakfast is very scant (cereal and bread) but then it's inexpensive at $9.

The WiFi however is very expensive - $20 for 3 hours (there's no 24 hour option) and my experience of it has been shocking. Desperately slow most of the time and even at 4am it kept dropping access entirely, meaning I couldn't even log out of my session so it kept ticking away without me using it. I spent most of my time talking to the Helpdesk (thank goodness I had an Australian mobile phone already).

Next door are a Krispy Kreme, MacDonalds and KFC. I couldn't eat at any of those but it was an easy 7-minute walk to the Domestic terminal to grab some food.

Overall - great for sleeping and showering and fantastic airport access. Don't depend on the WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    380
    435
    163
    104
See reviews for
345
351
281
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are extremely small and so is the bathroom. There are no tea/coffee making facilities and no toiletries provided in the bathroom. It is just a bed for the night prior to departure. The positive is it's closeness to the airport and the availability of the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I needed somewhere last-minute that was affordable to stay near Sydney airport and the Stamford Plaza and Holiday Inn were too expensive, so the Hotel Formule 1 had to do. At $129 it wasn't dirt cheap either. I had stayed at the Melbourne airport Formule 1 and thought it was quite good so I was expecting a reasonable stay here. Check in was smooth and fast. A bit of a rabbit warren trying to find my room, but once inside it was pretty much what I expected. Cheap, no frills and very small. That was OK. No problems. The bed was very hard and it moved around a lot, almost like a mattress on roller skates. Very uncomfortable. The bathroom is bigger than the ones at Melbourne airport and the TV is a small flat screen type embedded into the wall. It picks up the standard free-to-air channels. The walls were filthy (see pics provided). Disgusting. I have never seen anything like it. Surely someone could clean them every now and then? Air-con only goes down as a far as 19 degrees celcius, but it wasn't hot a hot day fortunately. No fridge in room, which was disappointing (the Melbourne one had one). Overall it was a place to rest your head for one night before flying out the next day. There is a McDonalds, Krispy Kreme and KFC virtually next door which means a quick dinner option (albeit unhealthy) so it's quite handy for a fast meal if that's what you want. You get one bar of soap, but no shampoo or conditioner so keep this in mind before you come. I had little choice to stay here because of the cost of the other nearby hotels (NRL grand final weekend) and I would maybe stay here again if I was priced out of the Stamford Plaza. Reception was effecient and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This Formule 1 hotel is great for its purpose. I spent the night prior to an early morning flight.

I parked my car in the hotel lot and walked just a few steps to the lobby. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. My room was small, clean and well-deigned. I felt like it could have come from IKEA. All I needed was a good sleep, a hot shower and proximity to the airport. I got all three.

A TV was well-placed for viewing from the bed. There was a small desk, reading lights, and a place to hang my clothes for the next day.

The room was surprisingly quiet given it is almost located on a runway!

I did not get to use the breakfast area or laundry, but it was nice to know they are available. My only qualm was that I thought wireless Internet access was priced too high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Formule 1 Sydney airport on a number of occasions now.
It certainly takes the worry away if you are flying into Sydney for an international departure the next day.
There is no need to worry about weather or airline delays and you get to sleep in longer on the day you head off overseas.

Its basic as all Formule 1 are but clean, well positioned and not expensive by Australian standards.
Charge about $aud6 each for transport to the international terminal which I think is a bit high and also have to pay for breakfast if you want that.
Easy to walk too from the Sydney domestic terminals..all flat.
Fast food outlets next door if you are inclined.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for one night last week, rooms are very basic but clean, good shower, friendly helpful staff. Did get lost trying to find it, arrived by train to the Airport and directions we were given were not helpful hence we ended up on wrong side of a very busy road. More signage would be good. Overall we were happy staying there and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport

Address: 5 Ross Smith Avenue, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1 Sydney Airport)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Sydney
Formule One Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Hotel - Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.