We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 O'Riordan Street, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic but convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Staff were polite and friendly. Meals were over priced for size of portions. The room was adequate, but don,t bring your cat, cause you'd never be able to swing it around. Well organised with airport shuttle service. Will try out the Holiday Inn next time. Enough said.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    521
    418
    97
    51
See reviews for
218
430
233
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well located airport hotel closer to Sydney domestic terminal than International terminal. shuttle bus service available. Very good meal in restaurant. Room marked down because of broken glass window.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel Ibis is a good option for an overnight near the airport. A traffic snarl on the route in meant it was actually much quicker to walk there than take a taxi, and only took 15 mins. The service at the front counter was friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy and the room capable of being quite dark with a heavy curtain. Whilst of course you always have to pay more for the convenience, compared to others in the area this hotel is good value for a three star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel was basic but what do you really expect? the main problem I had was not being able to find the box to insert my card to open the boom gate and exit from the carpark. Very frustrating when you need to be on a flight. I still don't know where it is - reception finally released me.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, Manager at Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear BigDaddy311

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport. I am sorry that you were not able to find the Card Reader to exit our carpark. I do understand your frustration especially if in a rush however we have several signs around the carpark indicating how to exit and there were no reports of any faults with the reader recorded. I am glad to hear our reception staff were able to assist.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Thank you once again for sharing with us

Hussein Abdallah
Hotel Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is well-located near SYD airport (although not walking distance from neither internation nor domestic terminal). The service was not great though. Breakfast was barely average: Bircher muesli at the buffet was re-filled only after asking several times. My room was a bit smelly as apparently there was an issue with the sewage system. Even if all this were fixed the value for money would still not be great. For what I paid for room, breakfast and 24 hours internet I could have easily stayed in a 4-star hotel in almost any other place in the world. But this was "just" an Ibis hotel...the charges are just outrageous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a bad experience at this usually average airport hotel. Had to go back to reception twice to get a key that would unlock the door. The room was unbearably hot, as the aircon doesn't operate until you switch it on, and the corridors and lifts have no aircon at all. On a hot day the whole place just gets impossible.
Then at 11pm while I was asleep, someone with a suitcase walked in! He must have been mistakenly given a key to my room.
At normal times the rooms are a bit overpriced at around $180. They are super simple, made to be cleaned quickly and look as if they could be hosed out! But $250 was ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, Manager at Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear 60sAussiecouple

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The Hotel just completed a multimillion dollar upgrade to the Air Conditioning system however with our focus on being an eco friendly hotel; it is still a requirement to switch on the A/C unit by pushing the ON button manually. Also, Ibis hotels are the market leaders in offering best value for me.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to discuss this further. Please contact me directly on +61 2 83398500 at your convenience as we strive to address all issues you faced.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
Hussein Abdallah
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As hotels go, it was fine - as others have noted rooms are on the small side, but still adequate. I was surprised by the general disinterest of staff as that hasn't been my experience at other Ibis hotels. One or two staff were friendly, but the majority were not and several were just plain rude. A polite smile, not pushing guests out of the way to get your cleaning cart in the lift, cleaning breakfast tables instead of having a lengthy chat, and providing accurate information about services and shuttles times would go a long way to improving this. Some addtional staff for early morning checkouts would also help the lasting impression here (as would some exterior lighting to make it easier to find your way down the ramp in the dark).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussein A, Manager at Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Lac2811

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience with a smile for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to investigate and address all problems mentioned in order to prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,
Hussein Abdallah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport

Address: 205 O'Riordan Street, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney Airport - the only AAA rated 3.5 star property at Sydney Airport. We are 100% non smoking with restaurant, bar, internet access, guest laundry and car parking. Ibis - Hotels the way you like them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney Airport
Ibis Hotel Sydney Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.