We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one last night in Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for one last night in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My family and I just finished a roundtrip NZ cruise. It was about fifty AUD from White Bay Terminal to Stamford Plaza. We arrived around 9:30am and lucky for us our room was ready for us to relax in. The location can't be beat. It's very close to the domestic departure building. The lobby was clean, open spacious, modern. We didn't use the restaurant but there is one. There is a small convenience store nearby. Our room was spacious, clean, and modern. The windows are in fact sound proof. We had a great view of the entrance to the airport, airplanes, terminals. My youngest son LOVED the view. We received two complimentary bottles of water in our room. The toiletries were okay; the lotion smelled awful, yuck lol The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows and the linens were nice and fresh. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge set us up with the shuttle bus that took us to the international departures building. Our flight left at 9:15am and we took the 6:30am shuttle; it was perfect. For the remainder of our final day we brought the kids to Darling Harbour so they can play. We walked to the closest subway station (which is Mascot). The walk can be very noisy as there were a lot of cars and delivery trucks around but it wasn't too bad; we had two young boys with us and they were fine (about a 13. min. walk). There are a handful or cafes/coffee shops along the walk as well. My husband and eldest son checked out the pool. They said the water was cold so they didn't swim. Great place; I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We tried to book this room online but kept getting an error (perhaps because there were four of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
It is great to read of your wonderful experience here at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. And YES, the view of the airport is amazing and we are pleased that your son enjoyed it!
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when next you are in Sydney.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    460
    257
    70
    57
See reviews for
179
402
100
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wagga wagga Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel after a 10 hour flight looking for a comfortable room. We were not disappointed, the room was spacious and very quiet, no outside noise at all. The bed was perfect. We had an early flight so I went to the Gym at 5am only to find it closed, I asked at the Front desk what time it opened and was advised 6:30am. We had to leave for the airport at 7am, I don't understand why a place that caters for travelers doesn't have 24 hour Gym access, The brochure in the room listed the gym but didn't state times so I did presume that it was 24/7. Unfortunately that spoilt my stopover and my impression of the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
At Stamford, we strive to provide exceptional service in all areas, therefore your feedback is very important to us. As such, we have taken on board your very valid comments regarding 24 hour access to our gym, and we are pleased to advise that we in the process of making this viable.
Thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and utilising our gym at any hour of the day or night!

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I'm such an old guy that I've been staying at this hotel since waaaay back when it was a Sheraton. The hotel is as good or even better than it was since my first visit back in 1997.

I made reservations directly with the hotel, and the process was fast and easy.

Although the hotel is close to the domestic terminal, you'll probably want to use the shuttle bus (six dollars one-way) rather than walking over (walking takes about 10 - 15 minutes). For sure you'll want to use the shuttle if you arrive into the international terminal.

Checking in was fast and efficient. The two rooms we had booked were blocked out next to each other on the 10th floor, offering excellent views of the airport and runways. The rooms themselves were quite large, nicely furnished, and equipped with all the usual amenities one would expect in an upscale property.

The king bedding was a spotless and very comfortable duvet. The bathroom was very large and was well-stocked with linens and accessories. HVAC was OK however the fan turns on and off and it's not possible to keep the fan running continously. One major plus for this hotel is that despite the proximity to the airport, no noise of any kind leaked into the room, and the drapes blocked out the light very well.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (A$28 pp for the full buffet) the nest morning. The food covered a wide range and was nicely prepared and presented.

Compared to similar quality hotels in the central city, the Stamford Plaza offer far better value, and frankly access to the city is easy, fast, and relatively inexpensive whether by taxi or by using the airport train (which we used to go directly to the Circular Quay). The hotel offered exactly what we wanted at a reasonable cost. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It will cost a bit more, but a deluxe king room with views of the airport on the higher floors is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate you taking the time in sharing your wonderful experience of your stay at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
We thank you for your continued patronage over the years and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Got put up here by an airline as they'd cancelled my flight & was stuck until the next morning.
It was a pleasant surprise; lovely comfortable room & a good night's sleep.
Excellent coffee in the bar/cafe area in the main dining area downstairs.
Usual style of buffet breakfast.
If I had to pay for the shuttle I'd walk it with small bags or wheelies...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Nothing worse than delayed or cancelled flights....at least your stay with us was most pleasant and comfortable, and you were well rested for your flight the next day!
We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be travelling to Sydney in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Stamford at the airport is well past its prime. I stayed in a Raffles suite (the true Raffles would be insulted), only one TV worked and the room was old and dated. I ordered room service, which comprised of a cold tough steak and limp salad which was rubbish and overpriced. I know the location if excellent, but next time the better option will be to stay in the city and catch a cab.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We truly regret your disappointment with your recent stay. Firstly, I have followed up on the poor quality of your room service meal with our Head Chef and have addressed this accordingly to ensure this does not reoccur. Rest assured this is certainly not indicative of the high standards to which we aim to achieve.
We are pleased to advise that the hotel is currently in the process of ongoing upgrades which include a minor refurbishment of our rooms comprising of new TVs, writing desk and soft furnishings. Our restaurant and bars will also be renovated, and the pool area will see new furniture to enhance the newly painted pool.
We thank you for your sharing your experience at the hotel and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in a room with two queen beds between three. Plenty of room in here (plus we also have a baby in a portacot).
The room service is fairly pricy for what amounts to something you'd get at an average cafe, but that's to be expected.
Beds are really comfy, no complaints in that department!
Some issues with keycards not working in the lift. I could not get mine to work.
What is really letting them down is soundproofing. We had a family check in next door at 9:30pm and they are either the noisiest people ever, or the walls are not very thick. I'm going with the latter. I could even hear someone in an adjacent room using the toilet. It's a pretty big downside, especially in an airport hotel where people are coming and going at all hours.
I would have gone back, but the noise issue is a dealbreaker for me.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
At Stamford we strive to provide superior service for all our guests, therefore your feeback is very important to us.
Whilst we are pleased you found the room comfortable and spacious, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the noise you experienced from the adjoining room.
We thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Stamford Plaza, like all Stamford's, are well managed and appointed hotels. The Airport hotel is a great location, with super amenities. Walking distance to T2 and T3 of Sydney Airport, regular shuttle to T1 and walking distance to the Sydney Train Station at the Domestic Airport. Great breakfast buffet. But, the hotel is showing its age and wear from frequent travelers (like many airport hotels) so carpets and rooms show the traffic and walls have marks and bumps. The TV video system get interrupted and the rooms may be a little smaller than one finds in a newer hotel. Another couple of years, without new paint and carpet, the stylish and pleasant hotel will be old and worn. Its a good stay in a great location and the staff are super, just reaching a point for some decorative work.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and none suffer from noise. All good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We strive to provide superior services and facilities and therefore your feedback is very important.
We are pleased to advise that we are currently in the process of ongoing upgrades around the hotel, and this includes our lifts, restaurant/bars, pool area and a soft refurbishment of the rooms. We are approaching an exciting year ahead and we hope to see you sometime in the future to experience our "new look".

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for five consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.