We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stamford Plaza Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stamford Plaza Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel itself is good. Close to the airport with access via a bus service which takes 4 or 5 minutes. The actual bus service is not at all well sign posted and confusing with many buses arriving at various times so you need to check with the driver to make sure you are on the correct one. The return trip to the airport was easier although despite having a ticket I was not on their list of passengers and the bus was full so could have missed out. On arrival I was informed that my reservation had been cancelled and that the hotel was full. It took 15 minutes of negotiation before I was allocated a room. After that all was fine with room service meal prompt and good quality and the hotel of good standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Sorry to read of the mix up with your reservation and shuttle bus seating. I will certainly follow up on these issues with the appropriate people to ensure they do not reoccur. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused on this occasion. On the other hand, we are most pleased you found the rest of the services and facilities up to standard.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    406
    235
    62
    50
See reviews for
161
346
94
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location, room, cleanliness are second to none. Ideal for the traveller... Only one disappointment. I called to confirm 2 days ahead to make sure we had a view of the runways and was assured this could be accommodated, even saying our room had been assigned to one with great views. Unfortunately we must have been relocated after this to the other side and had a view of roads and buildings. I didn't say anything as I was exhausted after travelling all day and accepted no view. Certainly would stay again and next time will check at check-in as well as call. Room service is expensive $25+ for most meals. Nice, restful place to prepare for international travel! Crossing fingers for runway view next time I stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We are pleased you were happy with the hotel and enjoyed your stay. We do regret however that you didnt receive a room with views of the airport, but please mention this on your next booking with us, as well as on check-in and we will endeavour to accommodate you.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stamford Airport

Efficient, friendly checkin and check out.
Room satisfactory, beds comfortable, quiet

Restaurant. Next to and opens onto very noisy bar. Bar cleared eventually, but the noisiest group of 10-12 young women moved into the dining room and continued talking at the same level.

Took 1 hour for food to arrive (given cold bake at home rolls and butter portions and drink after 1/2hour). Other tables had the same sort of wait. There weren't that many people in the restaurant to warrant that type of delay.

Chicken breast a bit dry but OK.
Seafood penna stodgy and sauce and seafood overwhelmed by the chewy pasta.
Salad and chips good. Mushroom sauce devoid of mushrooms and poured from a packet.
Desserts nice - brûlée and key lime pie, but raspberry coulis was raspberry jam.

Efficient preparation of bill. I had presented my Senators Club card and the appropriate discount was immediately applied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We are pleased to read that you found our reception staff efficient and the rooms most comfortable. We do however regret the inconvenience caused to you regarding the poor service and quality of food you encountered in our restaurant. This will certainly be followed up with our Director of Food & Beverage and reviewed accordingly.
It was great that you were able to take advantage of the excellent Senators Club benefits.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Rydges has opened up since we last stayed at the Stamford, but we decided to return to the Stamford this time to see if there were any changes to their service given the new competition. We were disappointed actually - room not as good as last time and the bathtub was looking a little tired. Also no free internet in the room - they do have free internet in the lobby, but I would think this is something they need to address if they want people to stay here rather than the far more convenience Rydges which you don't require a shuttle or taxi. I give it four stars as the rooms are good for what you are paying, but the service is nothing to write home about and there is no sparkle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your continued patronage at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We are pleased to advise that we are in the process of upgrading many areas of the hotel including lifts, pool/spa, restaurant, bars and rooms. In addition, we have taken onboard your constructive comments regarding free internet in which we will review accordingly.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience our "new look".

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights this trip,and got upgraded on our 2 night, also be aware if you have a vehicle give your parking ticket to front counter staff to verify then you can come I and out a lot cheaper. Beds are so comfortable and bathrooms beautiful, ask to stay in the rooms facing airport as its quite cool to watch the planes coming and going.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get the rooms on the 9 or 10 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Great to read you had a lovely stay and you enjoyed the view of the planes - they are quite amazing!
We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Sydney.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We use Stamford Plaza as a transit hotel between domestic and international travel in Sydney it is convenient location between Domestic and international airports with free shuttle to both Tthe restaurant is convenient clean and the staff friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
We appreciate your positive feedback, and most pleased you enjoy your stays at the hotel during your travels.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back when next you are in transit.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed overnight on way to Fiji. Beautiful king room with lounge and single seat chair. Bathroom facilities very good. Very quiet. Staff efficient. Got the stay and park package which includes return shuttle. Couldnt fault. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneHorbach, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Great to read you were happy with our Park & Fly package, and you found the facilities and services of the hotel faultless!
We trust you had a great holiday in Fii and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport on your next travel ventures.

Wayne Horbach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.