We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here the night before flying back to Asia. Very convenient location near airport but not too far from city and shopping too. Lovely big room with large windy and comfy bed. Overall better than I expected as the price was much lower than any room I could afford even close to inner west or CBD ($150 vs $200 for other cheapest 4 star).

It was a short stay but overall very pleasant. The reception and concierge team were efficient and friendly on check-in and no issues with booking. The check-out guy was a bit abrupt and look like he was having a bad day and was rude but it did not change my opinion of the hotel (he just needs to get the carrot out of his butt). Always a shame when one staff member can impact your review of a good hotel. (otherwise would have given it 5/5.

I will definitely stay at the Stamford Plaza Airport again.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms are on higher floors but if only for one or two nights then standard rooms are more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Sydney, and are most pleased your stay at the hotel was cosy. We will however follow up your comments regarding the staff member and ensure further retraining is provided.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next you visit Sydney.

Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    460
    258
    70
    57
See reviews for
179
403
101
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located within a 5 minute cab or shuttle ride from Sydney International Airport, this hotel provides the level of comfort and service expected from the Stamford Plaza Group of hotels.
An unusual aspect is being able to relax in one's room in perfect quietness, thanks to the finest double, or even triple-glazing windows, and watch giant airliners seemingly glide past one's room as they land or take-off.
The restaurant is as good as any Stamford Plaza fare ; both dinner and breakfast was of the best quality and selection (Be sure to check out their seafood buffet offering in the evenings ... It seemed that a host of locals love it!).
Efficiency of checking in and out will depend on whether you arrive simultaneously with a coach of group tourists ... We were lucky, but as we were leaving the hotel, things did start to get a tad messy.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the airport and as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.

We are most pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments.The hotel is very convenient and comfortable and caters to a wide range of people from overnight stayers to long stays, individuals, families and groups.

Thank you again and look forward to welcome you back should you be travelling to Sydney in the future.

Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For a 4* hotel in Sydney the Stamford isn’t badly priced, and the room was of the standard you’d expect. It’s very handy – just a couple of minutes from the terminals. The sound-proofing isn’t perfect but plane noise was not a problem. Room service was very slow and the food was lukewarm when it finally arrive after being chased up. Note the AUD20 charge for parking a car overnight. We had a hire car and chose to return it in the morning so we could avoid taking the shuttle with all our luggage, but a sole passenger might find the AUD6 shuttle cheaper. We didn’t use any of the hotel facilities so can’t comment on those, but were surprised that in 2013 a hotel of this standard doesn’t have free WiFi (in fact there’s no WiFi in the rooms at all)! Note: if you bring a car, beware the road systems around the hotel – you can only reach the parking entrance from Qantas Drive by leaving at O’Riordan, NOT Robey – we got into lengthy one-way system hell!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the hotel. We were concerned however with your comments regarding room service and Wifi which we will follow up accordingly.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport in the near future.

Guy Challis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here in the last few months so a great place, close to both airports. We always have walked to the hotel from the domestic terminal and we like the fact we can walk here in 10 mins, there is also a shuttle bus and of course taxis if you feel up to a stroll.The front desk staff are always friendly and happy to assist, the rooms are lovely, clean and a great size room.The lobby bar is a great place to unwind. The only negative is the buffet is expensive and not that exciting a selectionwith the al a carte menu. All in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: On this stay we had a great corner room but we have never been bothered by airport or traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
And thank you for your continued patronage at the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport. We are most pleased you enjoy your stays here and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Guy Challis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location to Sydney airport - caught a shuttle before read the note here about taking a cab but all OK. Good clean room - nice size & good shower. Staff on Reception were friendly & good check in was not bad time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for posting a review.
Yes, we have a great location and not your typical "airport hotel". We were most pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Guy Challis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hey what a 5 Star Place, and right next the the Domestic Sydney Airport, for us also. International not that far away as well. The whole atmosphere was tops. The room, the Dinner, the service and the Price was all perfect.

Room Tip: The Shuttle is the best way to get to the Airport....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.
We are always continuing to strive to provide service excellence and a memorable stay, and we are pleased we achieved this. Thank for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Guy Challis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Used Stamford for overnight stopover between flights. Shuttle bus to hotel was handy, as taxi rank queue was a mile long. Quick and efficient checkin. Room of good standard, shower in bath is a bit passe but was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuyChallis, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.
Good to read that your overnight stay was pleasant. Hope you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Guy Challis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's Best Airport Hotel as awarded for five consecutive years by Skytrax. Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel is your best luxury accommodation in Sydney. Located directly opposite the Domestic Terminal and minutes from the International terminal. It's the ideal business base for you to meet or discover all that Sydney has to offer - just 20 minutes drive from the Central Business District, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.