We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were flying out the next day. The location was very close to the airport and that was a reason why we stayed here. The hotel itself is very nice and the cleanliness is superb. The hotel is in walking distance to local eateries such as a pizza shop. It isn't very close to the shopping centres and things like that but that didn't matter to us as we were here for the night. All in all a nice hotel and we will be back. It is definitely worth the price. The service was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and many thanks for the kind review of the hotel. I have shared your positive comments surrounding 'hotel cleanliness' with our Executive Housekeeper Suzana Nedic to share with her team.

Many thanks, and see you on your next visit,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    410
    237
    62
    51
See reviews for
164
346
95
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fantastic room, service excellent and great food down below the hotel (can't remember the name of the restaurant). Rooms very well appointed, would highly recommend if you need a stopover near the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

We are so glad you enjoyed your 'stopover' with us! See you on your next visit,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I wanted to be close to the international airport before my flight next morning and wanted a pool. This hotel was just right. Excellent room with a view towards the city and overlooking the second floor pool. Had a great lunch in the hotel's AV8 Bar, attached to the main building. Couple of wines and relaxed watching a bit of cricket in a nice atmosphere. Room was spacious, really clean and with easy (but 55c per minute) internet access. Good value.

Room Tip: I think they will all be good, but overlooking the pool was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting such a positive review!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to looking after you on your next visit 'across the ditch' to Australia.

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Recently stay over New Year period. Location great for access to airports but generally service of poor standard. Had the seafood dinner meal and service was so poor had to get my own water and ask multiple times for my drink order. and as the meal is self service that's all the staff had to do. Completed a customers feedback form but didn't hear back for some weeks later and then just letter saying will look in to this. Amazed they even bothered by that time. Guess that's why the service is so slow, it's from the top down.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

I have shared your review with Toby Glover, our Food & Beverage Manager for his review, I know he shares my disappointment in your poor experience in our Grove Restaurant.

Please feel free to contact him directly on (02) 9317 1525, or provide a contact number, and I know he will be more than happy to discuss your experience in the Grove.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford Plaza one night last year, and then one night recently on my way through from an overseas trip.
It is perfect for just the one night when passing through Sydney. It is soo close to the airport, literally less than 5 minutes.
We found the shuttle bus at the airport which drops you at the hotel, for $6 per person, it is pretty good. We didn't have to wait long at all for the shuttle to leave.
Heading back to the airport in the morning the desk staff recommended just taking a taxi as they will pick you up on their way through to the airport. That was even cheaper than the bus. Best thing is you are so close to the airport you dont need to worry about the traffic or missing your flight :)
I would have given the hotel 5 stars however I did notice a difference between the quality of products and food since our second trip. The toiletries seemed to have changed, and the room service menu, which is what I was most disappointed about. The menu is still huge for room service, however some of the delicious things have gone.

I will definitely stay here again when flying through Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

I am pleased you had so many complimentary comments surrounding our hotel, our product offering and our team's service levels... we are of course, striving for that 5 Star Trip Advisor Rating.

I have shared your comments surrounding the Room Service Menu options with our Food & Beverage Manager, Toby Glover for his review.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are flying out from Sydney,

See you then,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location (next to airport) is the best thing about this hotel (2 mins in cab - 8-10 mins walking). Not that its a bad hotel at all.
Very close to airport and better to stay here and fly out early than stay in city and allow an extra 30 in the morning
Efficient though not necessarily friendly front desk staff.
Room cleaner and fresher than 18 months ago.
Bed very comfortable.
Bathroom very clean.
Work desk a little small for any useful work.
This is a stopover style hotel - and a very good one too.

Room Tip: One side faces the airport and the other looks north - the northside is quieter though with on the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

I am glad we have improved since your last visit to the hotel, and pleased you've referred to us as a 'very good stopover hotel'... we are, always, trying to improve our levels of service, and our consistency of delivery, and I will share your review with our Front Office Team for their reflection.

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel room is very nice, good bathroom, lighting, and VERY quiet! No problems with hotel but restaurant was another story!
Very expensive and not good! We had seafood buffet - the balmaine bugs were tasteless - what taste they had was of chlorine. The prawns were good as was the fresh fruit. The warm dishes were so overlooked and tasted as if they had been on the warming table for days! The water system for fresh water needs to be checked for mildew in both the AVS bar and the restaurant.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenNesbitt, Rooms Division Manager at Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting a review!

I have shared your review with our Area Executive Chef, Sunny Sia, and our Food & Beverage Manager, Toby Glover, for their review and action. I know they share my disappointment with your comments surrounding The Grove restaurant.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport again soon,

Kind Regards,

Ben Nesbitt
Rooms Division Manager
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport

Address: Corner O'Riordan & Robey Streets, Mascot, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2020, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Mascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport Hotel Mascot
Stamford Plaza Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.