We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ash's Table

Ash's Table
93-95 North Steyne Rd, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
(02) 9976 3382
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 201 Restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having eaten here before on our previous visit to Manly 2 years ago, we thought this would be a good meal. Unfortunately the food was very mediocre. The starter was ok, but the main of Chilli Prawn Pasta was insipid with the prawns smelling very strong, and despite a request for extra chillies, I don't think I found one first to last. With so many good restaurants in Manly, this one will not be getting a repeat visit from us. Well worth a miss

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been buying coffee from here for years on weekend trips to the beach. At $3 a cup it's OK for the price but not outstanding. Decided to have lunch here. I had salt n pepper squid made up of battered frozen squid and a dipping sauce. The squid was OK but I wouldn't rave about it at $24. The sauce was overpowering and not a good accompaniment. The salad was uninspiring. My companion did not finish the frittata as we agreed that it was gluggy and not very pleasant. The location is wonderful and the waitstaff are attentive. I will try next door Jellyfish next time but observed very few tables occupied while Ash's was crowded. Ash's is an institution in the Manly area and is located away from the bustle of The Corso Manly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very extensive menu and good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had planned to eat at the Jellyfish cafe next door but as we were seated at Ash's Table we decided this was a good alternative. The two waiting staff were very prompt and friendly and chatted away to us as they took our orders. I ordered the Brazilian seafood curry which was packed with fish but not much seafood. A little disappointing for $27 but very tasty. My husband had the warm prawn salad which he found to be very good. Ours friends ordered the Wagyu Burger and a chicken wrap. Both were generous portions and priced well. The drinks were included at $119 for four. We would go back to try other menu items as we thought it was good value for money and in a good location across the road from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Comfortable but slipping down-market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have dined here over several years it's a staple for me in Manly.

This time (after being away for almost a year) the ambiance, service and quality has slipped. Previously it was always a toss-up between Ash's and neighbouring Jellyfish, but now the decision would be easy, and not in favour of Ash's.

Price is still at the upper end of the spectrum but the food no longer matches it.

I hope I just struck them on a bad day and others have a better experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Solid breakfast, down to earth dinner and friendly, caring staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ash's has become a regular working breakfast for us, especially with the new $9.50 bacon & eggs special (and you won't be disappointed - no tiny servings on the cheap). It always has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and an outlook over the beach you can't fault.

The breakfast menu has a few surprises and delivers a solid feed that really satisfies for a good price, especially compared to other Manly beachfront cafes which struggle to get a "full breakfast" right at all.

Recently took my folks their for dinner as I thought it would be quieter than the Manly main drag and was really pleased with the feel, service and food. There is a pretty varied menu (seafood, curry, steak, lamb, et al) so can please everyone and the prices are very reasonable - especially considering the mid-range prices.

This is a not a fancy high brow place so the meals are down to earth and well portioned... very satisfying for a normal night out. Good range of wines to ranging from $30 odd upwards a bottle.

We sampled squid and wings for starters (very good) and lamb shanks, pork belly, Japenese chicken and Ash's burger. All good meals in their own right... if we'd realised how big they are we would have skipped entree!!

Yes, the pork belly was soft (not crispy) but this is up to the chef to cook the pork belly as they like... it can be very tasty and enjoyable with differing textures from crispy or soft style...

Chef showed his care when we where asked about the Japanese chicken as it was the first time they had served it... I thought it was fine but offered that it could do with a bit more zing and pop...

Dessert (apple crumble) was supurb.

Being at the north end of the beach, parking is always easy just across the road which makes this place all the more appealing. Again, approachable and friendly staff made all the difference.

Make it your regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash's Table also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Ash's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.