We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manly Guest House to your Saves list
Manly Guest House
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6 Steinton Street, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here one night with my boyfriend after going out to dinner with a group of friends and having a drink.
This accommodation was very reasonably priced, the room we had was decent, it seemed to be recently renovated and clean, bathroom was reasonable size and also clean. The room also had a reasonable sized wardrobe with full length mirror which was great.
We didn't use the kitchen facilities however they also looked clean and quite new.

I would definitely stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We really appreciate this great review and are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
15
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was ok. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay I would stay here, the beds were a killer on the back, I thought the kitchen was clean, the bathroom could of done with a little tidy but again I will say its great if you are looking for some where cheap to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We clean all the common areas every day, however they are shared and people sometimes leave a little mess behind :S

We are sorry that the mattress wasn't comfortable enough for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Manly Guest House - My wife and I spent 8 months there and our time was an extremely positive one. I will recommend it to anyone and of all ages! In the way of youth hostel-esque establishments, Manly has many, and Manly Guest House is in the mid range for cost but far surpassed others at both ends of the spectrum. The day to day running of a Guest House in a tourist hotspot I imagine is no small feat, as there are a lot of variables when dealing with the general public, particularly travellers, but regardless, it is run very well - it is very clean, surprisingly quiet, relaxed and things are done smoothly and effectively. It is hard to not feel at home and I think that is reflected in the length of time travellers spend there. If you are currently planning a trip to Oz, choose Manly, and if you want a reasonable, friendly and clean place to stay with an ideal location then there is only one place - Manly Guest House.

Room Tip: Room 12 for couples is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! It was more than a pleasure to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just stayed there for 4 nights and will be def. coming back again in a few weeks.
I think the last few up to date reviews says it all , very clean and friendly
Looks like they had problems a few years ago judging by the older reviews but all the problems listed there have dissapeard , they seem to have re acted and upgraded the property.
Just got positive things to say about this place and can only agree with the last few comments here.

Room Tip: Maybe not on the ground floor as you may be disturbed by the front door and people using the kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in a triple room and a double room on different nights. I found the staff very helpful and really went out of there way to make sure our stay went smoothly. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I've seen at a hostel. The kitchen was okay - maybe some newer crockery and cutlery would help. I really liked the charm of the place and would definitely recommend it to someone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review!

We do now have lots of new cutlery and crockery :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been living and working in the area for six months and have been living only in Manly Guesthouse. I could not be happier with my choice of accommodation. I looked at the other backpackers in Manly and they are all filthy, lacking in amenities, loud and lack experienced staff. The owner is an amazing woman who truly cares about her guests, keeps the place sparkling clean and makes herself available to her guests for whatever you may need. Even if you just want to chat while she does laundry! Manly Guesthouse really does feel like home. I've made lifelong friends here. The location is ideal, two blocks off the beach and next door to a convenience store/ gas station. When the local rugby team won the championship they stayed next door! Viva la Manly Guesthouse!

Room Tip: choose a room toward the back and on the beach side. you will get the sea breeze when you open the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

A cute little guest house with all the things you need to spend a great time in Manly: Very friendly staff, well equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, and SPOTLESSLY clean everywhere! Free internet, TV room (with christmas tree) information brochures for things to do in sydney and around, ferry timetables, comfy rooms, ten minutes walk to the Manly Corso, five seconds away from the beach. We love it here (we decided to cancel our hotel in Sydney and extended our stay in Manly at the Guest House). We have the impression this place is very well looked after and staff and management really care about keeping this place nice, clean and well-run. One thing about our room though: It's got one window to the side where the Caltex Fuel station is. This can be noisy when they emtpy glass recycling containers in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Address: 6 Steinton Street, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manly Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.