We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manly Guest House to your Saves list
Manly Guest House
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6 Steinton Street, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Years Eve
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed in a triple room and a double room on different nights. I found the staff very helpful and really went out of there way to make sure our stay went smoothly. The bathrooms were the cleanest bathrooms I've seen at a hostel. The kitchen was okay - maybe some newer crockery and cutlery would help. I really liked the charm of the place and would definitely recommend it to someone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review!

We do now have lots of new cutlery and crockery :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
15
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been living and working in the area for six months and have been living only in Manly Guesthouse. I could not be happier with my choice of accommodation. I looked at the other backpackers in Manly and they are all filthy, lacking in amenities, loud and lack experienced staff. The owner is an amazing woman who truly cares about her guests, keeps the place sparkling clean and makes herself available to her guests for whatever you may need. Even if you just want to chat while she does laundry! Manly Guesthouse really does feel like home. I've made lifelong friends here. The location is ideal, two blocks off the beach and next door to a convenience store/ gas station. When the local rugby team won the championship they stayed next door! Viva la Manly Guesthouse!

Room Tip: choose a room toward the back and on the beach side. you will get the sea breeze when you open the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

A cute little guest house with all the things you need to spend a great time in Manly: Very friendly staff, well equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, and SPOTLESSLY clean everywhere! Free internet, TV room (with christmas tree) information brochures for things to do in sydney and around, ferry timetables, comfy rooms, ten minutes walk to the Manly Corso, five seconds away from the beach. We love it here (we decided to cancel our hotel in Sydney and extended our stay in Manly at the Guest House). We have the impression this place is very well looked after and staff and management really care about keeping this place nice, clean and well-run. One thing about our room though: It's got one window to the side where the Caltex Fuel station is. This can be noisy when they emtpy glass recycling containers in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Great location, friendly staff and quiet. The rooms are small but just what you need if you are looking for somewhere nice and clean to sleep. I stayed for a week and it´s easy to feel like home there. The bathrooms are clean and new. The staff clean the guest house everyday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here and had a good time! Staff was friendly, room was nice and bathrooms clean. It was quiet and there is a good place to socialize in the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

Me and two friends arrived in manly with no idea of whr to stay so we walk around for 30min looking 4 a place to stay we had gone to another place manly backpackers but we were not happy with the state of the rooms/ bathrooms so we hunted down another place to stay. We got to the guest house and were greates with a smile and shown around before we booked a room. The rooms are perfect and the bathrooms are always spotless i would stay at the guest house anytime and tell all my friends to stay thr

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at the Manly Guesthouse for a few weeks before I found my own place to live. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay and don't ask for a very high standard this is the right place. The room was alright, the bathrooms very new and clean. The common areas were good with a well-equipped kitchen. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful.A big bonus is the free wifi and the location! Very close to the beach and a short walk to all the shops and pubs. All in all it's a cosy and homely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Address: 6 Steinton Street, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manly Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.