We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Time Has Come” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos

Hugos
Manly Wharf | East Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 202 restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Time Has Come”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My latest visit to this restaurant was a huge disappointment not only by the food but the service as well.We ordered two pizzas and a sirloin steak and a pear ,rocket and Parmesan salad with anticipation of receiving what was described on the menu.The first pizza arrived minus the blue cheese and the second minus any visible pork belly.There was no pear in the salad ordered.
Service has something missing.Sure ,they are polite but in an auto-pilot kind of way.'Casuanessl' and 'familiarity' are the points they need to refine.Too much given of each.The time has come to upgrade and re-invent this place before it's inevitable quality demise.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    33
    27
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely on of the most expensive restaurants in manly, but it definitely worth a visit!

It is a great location on the wharf, so the views are very picturesque...

The staff were very friendly and service was not rushed like it is in some other places!

The food and drink is a little pricey but you get what you pay for, good quality well cooked food. I had prawns - which were a probably the nicest I tasted during in my trip!

Cocktails were delicious - again a little pricey!!

Would recommend for a nice night out in manly!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trendy, popular atmosphere with a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, his daughter and son, along with their partners and I enjoyed a lovely, late lunch/early dinner on a lovely Sunday late afternoon. We all started off with delish cocktails. Cocktails are a bit pricey but they were tasty. Definitely a drink you'd only order once. With six of us, we ordered five different pizzas which was more than enough food. Again, pizzas are pricey (avg $26) but they were tasty but maybe not worth what we paid. The venue is lovely and we sat in area overlooking the water, watching the ferries come and go and the kids jumping off the wharf. I suppose you're paying for the location and atmosphere because the service was quite ordinary. I'd go again, since I live in the area but with lower expectations and I'd be more discerning abut what I order. $26 pizzas was not worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We headed to Hugo's for our combined birthday lunch and what an absolute winner it was. Recommended by a trustworthy frIend, we expected a quality experience but we were blown away with the service, the food and the amazing view.

It was a perfect Sydney summer day so the Harbour was sparkling, the ferries came and went and we savoured a magnificent lunch.

The yellowfin tuna starter was as fresh as you'll get. The fig salad absolutely delicious. The Cowra lamb was melt-in-the-mouth perfection while the Fremantle octopus was simply wonderful - so good. But, the dish of the day was the scallops with pomegranate and tomato, wow.

The cocktail list is great and the strawberry and coconut daiquiri is a winner.

Overall, a really wonderful birthday lunch, great location, friendly service (that is not at all rushed) and a meal that won't be soon forgotten. We will most certainly be back.

Thanks team, we loved it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Manly delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great views, service and ambience. Food pretty good too. Definitely worth visiting. Menu and restaurant caters to all, i.e. kids, families and couples.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Hugos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.