We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Sea Life Sanctuary

Manly Sea Life Sanctuary
West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
02 8251 7877
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$82*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo...
Ranked #5 of 7 Attractions in Manly
Attraction details
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Nothing really stood out during our visit today. The place needs major update, old and tired. I agree with the other reviewer that the old lady manning the tide pool was unfriendly. Though the newer penguin cove was nice there were many kids horsing around on the seating areas which were clearly disturbing the penguin colony, but neither the parents nor staff interfered. Wish the staff would've enforced the signage a little more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    63
    39
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“manly visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This attraction was a surprise, alhough small was very interesting. So many fish species local to our region made it a great attraction. Slightly over priced. Our teenage boy was very impressed and would visit again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting display of marine life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Many different fish and other animals are to be seen here. The tank where marine animals can be viewed by children very closely well set up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I hadnt been here for about 15 years and had forgotten how good it was. I took 3 teenage girls along to meet up with some family with little kids. Their heart sank when I pointed it out from the ferry because it doesnt look much. Once we got inside their outlook changed completely. We did the tunnel tour which was really informative and I really loved it as well. I remember paying a fortune to see 2 scraggly looking Little Penguins in a rehab on a visit to NZ last year, all the time we had a great penguin display right near home! We were there for 2 hours and could've stayed longer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not as big as Sydney aquarium, or as well laid out as Melbourne. It's probably on par with the aquarium contained within the National Zoo in Canberra.

The penguins were great, the touch tank lacking in live animals for the kids to explore, and not much guidance as to what to see next when walking around the place.

It seemed rather small, and in need of a bit if a renovation in the tank areas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manly Sea Life Sanctuary also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Manly Sea Life Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Sea Life Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.