We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pity about the food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 North Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Manly Pacific Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Manly
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great location, pity about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed 4 days as part of a corporate conference. Reading all other reviews prior to checking in, I made sure that I had a high floor. I was on the 6th floor facing back to the 'burbs, but that is ok as it is quiet and I didnt have anyone looking into the balcony. I had colleagues who had the beach frontage but they complained about traffic noise and revellers. The view from the front is magnificent though. The rooms seem to have gone through refurbishment, there is a sense of newness to it but functionality is sorely lacking. So what is good about this hotel?

Good:
1. The staff are very helpful and try their best to accomodate your requests
2. The location is fantastic. Right in the middle of the beach strip and you can have massive walks or take a left and go to the rockpool. All in the matter of 10 mins. Walk out turn right and go to Hemingways Cafe for a high quality cuppa. Restaurants left right and centre.
3. This is the only hotel i have stayed in which has the longest table in record. It means that you have a huge amount of space to work on, put stuff on. Good thinking there.

To be improved:
1. The shower room and the bathroom floor is separated by a piece of plastic about 3cms in height. If you have long showers, there will be a tide of water which then washes into your bathroom. Yes, aesthetically the bathroom is minimalist and pretty but functional? No.
2. There is nowehere to hang towels, handtowels or even swimming cossies
3. The kettle is the smallest I have seen in a hotel. Once you hace 2 mugs of tea/coffee, you have to boil again. Try filling a hot water bottle with this kettle.
4. The food: what in the world happened here? It all looks good, but seafood tasted rubbery and desserts tasted stale. And dont get me started on the coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, higher than 4th floor if you can. Just bear in mind that if you have rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    462
    197
    67
    27
See reviews for
372
462
64
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The reception experience was underwhelming and the furnishings are quite tired. The most baffling aspect of the stay was the dark corridors and dark foyer lighting on the accommodation floors. It gave the place a dingy atmosphere. Unless you have a sea view, you are overlooking suburbia. The food at the buffet was a bit below average. Having a few more bar staff may help the ambience so that people dont have to literally queue for service.Wouldnt be in a hurry to stay again. Great location, very average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was our first stop on a 3 week tour of Aus. The location is brilliant, 30 min drive from the airport by taxi, immediately facing North Steyne beach and very close to manly bars, cafes etc. The reception is spacious and modern and althought the rooms were somewhat basic, they also were spacious and clean, not luxurious but perfect for an activity based stay. Definately recommend it for the active family.

Room Tip: We had a double double (with 2 kids) and there was plenty of room even for all the cases! bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 1anonlyJC,

Thank you for providing some wonderful feedback on the hotel. It is a pleasure to receive a positive review of your experience travelling Australia.

I also believe that our location in perfect for exploring and getting out and going swimming or having a walk along the beach. Manly and surrounds has a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing or activities for the more adventurous.

We hope you had a fantastic time touring Australia and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific when you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the best hotels we've stayed in. Beautiful rooms, wonderful service and overall great location. And great value for money. Would definitely go back, even as Sydneysiders!
One of the best hotels we've stayed in. Beautiful rooms, wonderful service and overall great location. And great value for money. Would definitely go back, even as Sydneysiders!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear EmilyKH,

Thank you for providing some wonderful feedback on the hotel of your stay on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the services and the facilities provided by the hotel. We strive to provide a superior experience for all our guests and comments such as yours will serve as an encouragement to the staff.

Located in the heart of Manly with everything you need at your doorstep; Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific is sure to fulfill all your holiday requirements.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming our neighbouring Sydneysiders back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is one of the larger hotels in Manly; location-wise, it's within seconds of the beach and minutes away from the shopping area (bars, cafes, etc) and also the ferry crossing (to Sydney).

Hotel rooms are large; I had one of the sea facing ones with a balcony, which was nice - reasonable patio area with some deck sofas, which was a nice touch.

The bedroom itself was a good size, beds comfy, etc. Bathroom was also okay - a tiny bit dated and didn't appear to have an extractor fan, but this wasn't a major issue.

The hotel staff were friendly and really helpful; bar was also good with fast service.

It's worth noting that this hotel is used for conferences and parties, therefore you need to be careful at check-out on a Sunday morning if there's been a party the night before (long queues at the check-out desk!).

But that's the only gripe - I'll happily stay here again if/when I return to Manly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear UKLondon_Neil,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the services and the amenities provided by the hotel. We strive to provide a superior experience for all our guests and comments such as yours will serve as an encouragement to the staff.

I believe that our location in great for all those who travel to Manly as everything you need is within easy walking distance. Manly and surrounds has a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing and is quite close to many restaurants, bars and cafes.

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better and this alone is enough to justify the (very expensive) room rates.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable, but not exactly luxurious, with some maintenance issues (eg: the bath/shower water switcher in our room was temperamental)

Breakfast was included and offered a good spread.

Overall I enjoyed our stay. But I will remember Manly, not this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautiful location, lovely breakfast, clean rooms and friendly staff.

However, beware the pool is tiny and there was only 1 umbrella for the 20 guests on the pool deck. (Blue bottles in the ocean on that particular Saturday).

The pillows are really horrible, flat and without substance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly_Pacific_Sydney, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear FivOnTheRoadTogether,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific on Trip Advisor.

I also believe that our location is great, especially for travelers’ and families that are not familiar with the area. Manly and surrounds has a lot to offer in the way of just relaxing or activities for the more adventurous.

We do have an in-room pillow menu, which includes latex pillows, foam core pillows, goodnight curve pillows and many more. I apologise that you may not have been made aware of this service. I am pleased to announce however that we are currently replacing the pillows in the rooms.

Thank you once again for posting a review of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific when you return in the future.

Sincerely,

Darren Cann
General Manager
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific

Address: 55 North Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Manly Pacific Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-refurbished Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific is a 4-star hotel situated on iconic Manly Beach. Located just 30 minutes from Circular Quay and Sydney city by ferry and offering spectacular views, this oceanfront hotel is ideally positioned for holidays and business travel. Boasting extensive conferencing facilities and 213 contemporary rooms, the hotel also features a restaurant and three bars, plus a rooftop pool, gym, sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific Hotel Manly
Accor Sydney Manly Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.