We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Manly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Manly to your Saves list
Quest Manly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Manly
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great accommodation with a beautiful outlook to Manly Ferry precinct.
Surrounded by quality restaurants, great coffee downstairs and supermarket a short walk away. Even though we were there for business felt like a holiday

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
Once you are in Manly it is pretty easy to switch into holiday mode no matter what you are here for. It is a special place.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    81
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
76
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Such a nice spot overlooking the harbour and the Corso. We stayed for four nights then went back for a further five. Initially had a studio apartment overlooking the Corso but for the second part of the stay we were upgraded by the manager to a one bedroom apartment after I had requested a conversation with him because of having been placed in a studio immediately above building works to the ground floor shops, where hammer drilling from 9am was a real problem. The building works were beyond the control of the Quest, and should have been completed in the winter season; but, placing us immediately above was insensitive. (The building woks should have finished by now!) The manager's response was helpful and I would recommend the Quest at Manly as somewhere that will respond well to issues raised with them. I have stayed here before and the quality and cleanliness of the apartments can't be faulted and the staff responsiveness is excellent. The Quest is not cheap (but is value for money in Manly terms).

Room Tip: Go for a one bedroom harbour view if you can afford it. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review- it was great to see you back at our little property.
You make a lot of good points. The good news is that the disruptive part of the build for the new Crinitis restaurant is done, so we are getting closer to the opening date for this great new venue.
Unfortunately we were at capacity when you stayed with us, so our options were limited in terms of where we could put you initially. That said, hopefully you finished well ahead by the time you checked out!
I will pass on your compliments to my staff and we look forward to seeing you back here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, v good location, parking downstairs included, service could do with improvement, little noisy, questionable value but limited supply in Manly. Monopolistic pricing amongst Manly hotels continues. Hotel rooms on lower floors so a tad noisy, not much difference between studios and one bedders.











  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I can see from your many other reviews that you are an experienced traveller, so your feedback is especially valuable.
Manly is a literal "paradise on earth" so with that in mind, hotels with a close proximity to all that Manly has to offer are going to be expensive to run and therefore stay at. But once you are here, you can be drinking at a fabulous bar, eating at an amazing restaurant, scuba diving or snorkelling at world famous sites, surfing, shopping or doing literally hundreds of other things without starting the car or hailing a taxi. In addition to this, we have recently spent close to half a million dollars on our property and our rooms are looking fabulous. So all that said, I would suggest that while staying here is not cheap, the value proposition is high.
We pride ourselves on our service levels. As a boutique property we are afforded a little bit of extra time to spend with all of our guests, so if you feel we have fallen short, or if you have any feedback on how we can improve, please feel free to contact me directly at mstanley@questapartments.com.au .
Otherwise, thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at The Quest for a week while working in the local area. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Very helpful and welcoming staff. There are quite a number of nearby restaurants and cafes, and the ferry terminal to the city is only across the street. Can't fault The Quest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your glowing review, it is great to receive feedback to tell us that our hard work is paying off. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment overlooking the Corso. Very spacious and comfortable. No bother with any noise. Great location for the ferry. Free underground parking. Very helpful on front desk, Thanks Matt. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed the weekend knowing the location was exactly going to suit our needs. It did. Car stayed in the basement security carpark until departure. Walked to ferry, restaurants, the Art Gallery, Manly and Shelley Beaches and to buy breakfast supplies across the road on the pedestrian Corso. Serviced apartment clean and functional. Tip: Request a room facing The Corso as harbour rooms can be noisy with bus terminal below.

Room Tip: Request top floor facing the Corso overlooking council chambers. Quieter and east facing so morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. You covered a fair bit of ground in your short stay with us- nice work! I love the walk to Shelly Beach this time of year. The scenery is amazing and you never know what you might see over there. In the last little while I have seen Water Dragons, an Echidna and even a large Humpback Whale dropped in to say hi.
You are right, the morning sun in the studios is lovely, but the trade is missing the great harbour views of the one bedroom apartment. I will leave the jury to deliberate on the best choice as I like them both.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back in Manly very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

As a regular user of this chain we found the size of the apartment to be smaller than other locations but as usual the cleaning was superior to most. Well done.

My big gripe was the noise, not from the buses outside or the traffic, but from my wife, who gave me running update of this noise through the night. When will builders of appartments on main roads use double glazing. PLEASE.

The staff were great and the underbuilding carpark perfect in this busy part of the city.

What a great location. Ferry and buses at the door. And eating heaven everywhere.
The transport and food was so good we did not use our car for three days.

Great gym in building as well.

If only less noise this would be 4 stars.

Yes we will return as we love the walks etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I appreciate your feedback.
I am glad to hear that you noticed the hard work of our housekeeping department. The cleanliness of our property is definitely one of the most common compliments we receive.
With regards to the noise issues you experienced, indeed Manly can be a bustling place at times, particularly on a Friday and Saturday night. Many guests who are sensitive to noise tend to prefer to opt for a one bedroom apartment if they are staying over the weekend. An added advantage of staying in this room type is that you get stunning harbour views.
There are so many walks and trails to tackle in Manly- please make sure you drop by the front desk for a chat with me next time you stay so that we can compare notes.
Hopefully we can make sure that next time you stay with us we can get a four or even five star rating from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Manly

Address: 54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Manly 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Grande Esplanade is ideally located, just a short stroll from the iconic Manly Beach. Directly opposite Manly Wharf, our property gives you the added bonus of being only 15 minutes by Fast Ferry to Sydney's CBD. There are numerous world class restaurants, bars and boutiques on our doorstep. We provide spacious serviced apartment accommodation complete with kitchens, laundry facilities, wireless internet, balconies and most apartments have harbour views. Quest Grande Esplanade is a luxurious home base for all your Sydney explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Manly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Grande Esplanade Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.