We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Manly Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Manly Lodge to your Saves list
Manly Lodge
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Manly B&B and Inns
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Manly Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thank you Manly Lodge. A whole bunch of us stayed with you last weekend and we had 5 different types of rooms. Loved the atmosphere, furniture, rooms - especially the cooking facilities. As a sporting group it was good to be able to cook. Was good having breakfast provided and awesome sitting on the small balcony sipping coffee and watching everyone go by. Your staff were really friendly and very helpful as we needed help getting around. Perfect situation too. Will definitely be back.
Sue

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs had a great breeze, didn't need airon in February!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    18
    13
    13
See reviews for
12
26
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently, great location to the beach, Ferries & the Corso.

We had the Family Budget room & it was .... budget. BUT, it was clean except for the mouldy wooden boards in the tiny shower. We used this place only as a base.

Would I stay there again?, yes. I will be heading back around October & will more than likely stay here again but I will go for a room upgrade.

All this place needs is a good clean up & it would be mint, but then the price will go up.

If u are a bigger person 95kg up I suggest u up grade your room as u will not fit in the shower.

Room Tip: Up grade if u are a larger person as the shower in the Family budget room is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

i have lived in Manly many years and chose this place to spend a couple of nights now I don't live here anymore. Its such a great location....and has such potential to have all the things that money don't cost - an atmosphere?! A holiday feel? Some music ....some style .... for $180+ a night its clean but depressing. In the Standard single room, I have every kitchen appliance known to man (including a range hood/stove/microwave, toaster, pots, pans etc, too much for such a small room. A kettle and small fridge would have been fine. Other touches are that the TV is actually an LG monitor on a DVD player, wires trailing UP the wall, the internet only works at the front of the property and is patchy, I could go on, all the small stuff adds up to a waste of space ..... its so close to the beach and corso, its a small goldmine, with owners/managers who must be asleep at the wheel as its not $$ needed here - it just needs a sense that its alive and we're on the beach in Manly and everyone's lovin' it. Nah, not in here. Its got less atmosphere and finishing touches than a public library.

Room Tip: Just ask for one without half a kitchen squished in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I've stayed here several times before and the reviewer below is correct in saying you'll either love it or hate it. I think it's to do with what room you get and where it is located. I happened to get a room near the main foyer and although it's not exactly the hotels fault, it can be a bit noisy. It seemed as if it was a meeting point for all the foreigners talking loudly in some language to woo over someone's baby or just talk loudly in general.

As for the room itself, I stayed in the budge room. It's small! has a double bed, tv, aircon, small stove and cooking facility. The bathroom is small, yet clean enough.

Location is great, very close to Manly beach and the Ferry service into Sydney. Good shopping, food options nearby too. There is a Coles supermarket a street down towards the Corso which is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Manly

A lot of what you read in reviews here, good and bad, is fair enough. I've stayed here at least 6 times and I have rooms I prefer, and rooms I'd prefer not to go back to. This tells you that despite the downsides, I keep coming back. Maybe not again though..

This is a basic lodge which is in serious need of an update in places. It really depends on the type of person you are and what you're prepared to put up with and I don't wish to offend people here. If you are a "complainer" who expects perfection then this is most definitely NOT the place for you. Seriously, you'll hate it. Don't even think about it. Move on. Now!

If you're a bit less likely to complain, if you accept that you've paid less money than you would for the Sebel which is just down the road, but you've got a reasonably (but not exceptionally) clean place in the most BRILLIANT location, then you might think, like I usually do, that this is a great place to stay.

Parking can be a temporary pain. If you're lucky you'll get a parking space close by. If you're unlucky - and we've been mostly but not always unlucky - you'll have to park a bit of a walk away. But that's ok. Pull up outside (easy enough to do in the wide street) and off-load your luggage and companions at the front door. Grab a free parking permit from Reception (this is a blessing because you'd get hit for big charges otherwise) and park your car somewhere legal in the parking permit zone. Chances are you won't need the car until you leave but anyway, by this time you've already unloaded and have a free permit so no problem! Come back later and park right outside when it's quieter, ready to load up again when you leave.

Some rooms are tiny - it's definitely worth checking out the website and judging which room will give you the most space for your needs. But it still won't be palatial.

The fixtures and fittings are old. Yup, old. You might encounter broken slats in the wooden blinds which allow daylight to stream in. But you might not.

There's a decent fridge in the room which has a few minibar items in it. The fridge in the room we just had was in need of a defrost. No room in the ice compartment at all - completely frozen over. Just pick drinks up at a nearby shop and you'll be fine. There's a cafe on site. It used to be thriving with a patisserie and there were people coming in off the street to buy coffees etc. Those were in the days of the cooked breakfast. Now, as others have said, breakfast is serve-yourself cereal, toast, juice and you can have a coffee made for you. The cafe is closed to the public and this seems to signal... something.

You won't always get a good reception on the tv in your room. There is wifi but it's not free and it's not generous. I stick to my 3G .

The staff have always tried to be helpful. Booking is always fast and easy online, followed up by payment on the phone. There are no lifts/elevators so heavy suitcases have to be carried if you're upstairs but I've had the young guys on reception help us at times. Incidentally, I've never seen a female receptionist - it's always been young guys. Not that this matters. I've always felt the staff were good.

The top bed covers look like they've seen cleaner days but the inside sheets and pillow cases are always clean. You get enough towels and small freebie toiletries are provided. The bathrooms have been hit or miss for cleanliness but you get a daily housekeeping service. I wouldn't put up with filth but generally these places are clean enough. The aircon has always been good whichever room I've been in.

Hmmmm. So why do I keep coming back? Simple - the location. And the price is great considering the location. It's a tiny stroll down a quiet street to a fantastic beach. There's a good Greek restaurant on that beach corner. Go up the street the other way and you have the cafe we used for cooked breakfast which is good.

Stroll a tiny bit further and you are right in the heart of Manly with all its restaurants and shops, and these are good. So the Manly Lodge is in easy walking distance of the wharf where you get a really good ferry service.

Just not sure, after this last visit, if the Manly Lodge is going downhill. It seemed a bit shabbier than our last visit about 7 months ago. They've stopped the cooked breakfasts and closed the coffee shop to the public. The breakfast room is doubling as a store room. The place seemed less clean. It might be worth a try next time we come as long as we can get a preferred room. It would be a shame if we decided to stop coming here because it's always been great. It might just be this room which we've never been in before. I can definitely see why you'd be put off if the room we've just been in was your room on the first visit. But again, it's cheaper and the location is perfect.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

As per previous reviews, this is quite a basic lodge with simple facilities. I found the staff to be helpful and the room was clean and a good size, although dated.
Breakfast was a choice of cereal and toast, there were no hot options, although there was a choice of a nice selection of fresh coffees.
The best thing about the Lodge is the location, it is excellent for beach and wharf (hence for access to ferries) and is easily walkable to the many shops, bars and restaurants that Manly has to offer.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Best to avoid; rooms are dated. Fairly over priced for type of establishment. I would rate it 2 star whereas website calls itself a boutique hotel. Breakfast was simple (toast/cereal/orange juice) but margarine/butter had run out. Website shows nicer rooms. Client testimonials are a couple years old 2009/2010.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Lodge

Address: 22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manly Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Hotel Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.