We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Lodge

Save Saved
You added Manly Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manly Lodge
22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Manly B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best to avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Best to avoid; rooms are dated. Fairly over priced for type of establishment. I would rate it 2 star whereas website calls itself a boutique hotel. Breakfast was simple (toast/cereal/orange juice) but margarine/butter had run out. Website shows nicer rooms. Client testimonials are a couple years old 2009/2010.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I have justs stayed 2 nights at this
'boutique' hotel. The only thing it has going for it is position which is brilliant everything you need is a few minutes walk. The place however is very odd, very dated and dirty, and my room was meant to be one of the superior rooms! (it did have the biggest spa bath which was good) That damp dust smell is the first thing that greets you, then you see the dust everywhere I longed to get a bucket of hot water and give it a good clean! Light breakfast is included (no sign of eggs and bacon mentioned in previous reviews) that means toast and packaged cornflakes or nutragrain in an area which obviously used to be a cafe however now stores bikes and the magazine in the rack was from 2011. I had to go and find the guy to ask for a cup of tea. All in all a very strange experience. I paid $220 a night - not expensive compared to 5 star hotels, however we have just been touring around NSW & Victoria and stayed at a variety of establishments and this was the strangest out of them all, with the deserted cafe and strange corridors and the smell it was almost like something from a weird film!!! There are definitely cleaner better value for money establishments around. (sadly all booked up when we were looking)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week for 8 nights. I was slightly worried after reading previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Here goes. The location is brilliant, 100 meters from many sea front, and manly wharf. Loads of bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Maid service everyday. Free included breakfast every day, not extensive but freshly cooked. Free wifi (only in certain parts of the hotel). The room was adequate. Staff were friendly and nice.
To all you people who complain about it, if you are happy with the price this is what you will get, if you want more luxury in the area look elsewhere, and pay x2/x3 the amount per night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hi there,
I would like to thank you for a pleasant experience we had in staying at your hotel with the great room rates. It was so lovely, we absolutely adored the family suite from the fully furnished kitchen to the jacuzzi in the bathroom, and the beds were so comfortable. The location is so close to everything we needed, Coles, restaurants, the beach. We will definitely be coming here again. Your staff are awesome with the room service, the complimentary breakfast was lovely, great coffee by the way.
Cheers
Susan, Lei & Marianne
May 2013

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" we were in Suite 30, good as it's not in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As other reviewers have already noted it is as well I wasn't traveling with a cat ...... since the cat would have been unable to swing for the duration of the stay. That said the room was comfortable and clean with plenty of hot water to shower. One minor issue (beyond the control of the hotel) is that a street cleaning lorry came past the window of the room at about 5am each day. The staff were very friendly and the bacon and eggs at breakfast were lovely. Prices were okish bearing in mind the ridiculous Sydney prices for hotels but don't expect 4* quality. This is a good hotel if you want basic accommodation in a good location in Manly.

Room Tip: Try and get one that doesn't face Victoria Parade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, NSW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed two nights here. We only wanted to stay for one night for a special occasion, but you had to book for two nights. We stayed in a standard room, which was just big enough to swing a cat. There was an ensuite, but the doors were folding and easy to bump into from the bed. Concertina doors would have been more appropriate for the space. The other rooms out the back of the Lodge and down the side looked nicer and bigger. Breakfast in the Cafe was good and on the house for residents and it had a nice ambience. There was no parking provided, but the Lodge provided a parking permit, which was Judy as well because it was very hard to get a park. The Lodge was handy to everything in Manly on foot, especially restaurants and the beach.

Room Tip: The standard room was adequate, but if you want to stay longer and have a bit of space, upgrade to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

after saving very hard for trip of lifetime decided to go to manly which looked beautiful but arrived and had to carry own suitcases up stairs along a disgusting dirty hallway with filthy carpet and shabby looking hallway ! entered room and smell hit us straight away, room hadnt been aired and opened window to find no lock on it and broken blind that you couldnt close. couldnt have cup tea in room because the kettle was scaled. origionally booked 3 nights but only stayed 1 night and couldnt wait to get out. complete waste of money under false write up. they shouldnt be allowed to do this. they say go on whatif but to no avail yet. manly lodge boutique (how did they manage to call it that and get away with it?)

Room Tip: have a look at room before you pay money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Lodge

Address: 22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Manly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Hotel Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.