We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not stay in this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manly Lodge to your Saves list
Manly Lodge
22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Manly B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Please do not stay in this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked for 7 nights and left after 3 due to the poor state of accomadation.

The good points: The guys on reception where as helpful as they could be .The location is good for the beach and the Manly Ferry.

The bad points:The airconditioning was broken when we arrived and remianed so,despite promises of getting it fixed.the room was incredibly small with a tiny grimy window which only opened on one side,the heat was unbearable.The bathroom was mouldy and there was mould growing on the back of the curtains.The seating area was a small sofa wedged inbetween the bed and the wall, so you had to put your feet on the bed if you where sat on the sofa.The lights flickered on and off and the light switch in the bathroom often jammed so that you couldnt put the light on.I could go on,but the gist of it is that this place is run down,unclean and feels unsafe.The room charges are excessive for what you get,but even if it was half the price we would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Never take room 6,we didnt see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
12
24
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having to book for a group of nine I had a terrible time finding affordable accomadation for a large group that was decent in Manly until I came across Manly Lodge. I booked the family suite 1 for 2 nights and family suite 2 for 1 night over a weekend

The goods:
1. Manly lodge is within short walking distance to the wharf, beach and corso
2. For what you get it is reasonably priced
3. The Family suite 1 is spacious, bathrooms is huge. The ktichen is a decent size too
4. Rooms were clean
5. Allowed us to check in early
6. Staff were helpful
7. Freinds commented how great the place was

The not so good:
1. Received an email confirmation of our arrival and departure date for both rooms. Upon check in the reception had a different set of dates(they had the following day) In the same sentence though they quickly fixed the problem and took us to our room...Not to sure if it would've been as easily fixed if they actually doubled book the room
2.By no means is the exterior/courtyard or hallway a boutique as renovations are clearly in progress but why would you want to walk around the hotel when you have beautiful beaches within a few short steps

Even with a feew minor hiccups I would highly recommend this place. Would definitly stay here again. What a terrific place!!!

Room Tip: Family Suite 1 is awesome for groups!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our son who lives nearby examined this hotel proir to booking and it was OK. However in the intervening period the hotel has changed hands. Upon arrival there is clearly renovation work taking place. And therefore no bar, or breakfast room. Each room has a small kitchen, with the bare minimum of cooking and eating. We were originally given Rm 5, but immediatly noticed that the pipes were very noisy and demanded a move. We were upgraded for that stay. The new room had a dead cochroach on the bathroom floor. The reception closes at 9pm and an arrival later than that costs $25.
We were staying for a total of 9 nights in 3 blocks. They insisted on payment up front for all the periods from day 1. The law in Oz is if you have paid a deposit thats it you have lost it so now we are stuck with it. Then as they had our credit card details they charged for an extra night, when challenged they could not find the paper work ! ! Luckily we could and the charge was refunded. But we originally has an agreemnet that as the hotel have a policy of 2 or more nights attract a reduced rate, we would get the entire 9 nights at that rate. However that never happened each period had the first night at the higher rate.
The duvet covers need a damn good wash on hot. They are stained with oil and god knows what else, despite pointing this out we were given another stained cover.
The location is excellent, but the car parking is on the street, they have a permit, but are reluctent to issue it. It will cost a $100 deposit. And then you have to search for quite time to find a place, which may be in another street. If just visiting Sydney, you do not need car, the ferry is within 200yds and will take you direct to Circular quay. Overall I do not know how this claims to be a boutique hotel. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not take room 5, check duvet covers immediatly and complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel at the beginning of June. After checking out several hotels in the Manly area, we decided to spend our time in Manly here. Manly is in serious need of a newer, modern hotel. ALL of the hotels are old, run down and in need of some renovations.

We spent our first few days in the Honeymoon suite which actually quite charming and roomy, which was nice. The rooms are clean and have a full kitchenette, but are defintely a bit outdated. We ended up having to switch rooms half-way through our stay as it started raining heavily one night and the sky light in our room started leaking. There was water all over the bathroom floor and inside the glass cover in the light fixture. The next morning we were moved to a much smaller room on the first floor. This room was crowded and had a musty smell and was definitely just average.

We found the staff at the front desk to be really kind and helpful. This hotel could be quite nice with a little bit of updating and some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

It´s my second time at the Lodge, and I can farely say that is all I expect from a small hotel, the staff was great, great sense of care and helpful. The location is arguably perfect, just in betweeen Manly beach and sydney harbour, rooms are serviced every day and the cleaning standards are high. it´s a shame the restaurant remains closed, however they seem to have plans for the future, so will have to wait and see the outcome! However all the rooms contain kitchenetes with cooking facilites.
I highly recommend this place, I´ve read some comments and I cant believe we are talking about the same place, I guess the new management brought new ideas and higher standards.

Room Tip: ask for deluxe rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Ideal location but the rooms are compact and basic and only value for money if you can get a reduced rate. Staff were very helpful- they found accommodation for us at the last moment albeit we had to move twice! Rooms are designed for self catering, as a result there was not al lot of circulation space. Manly is great and there are some fabulous beaches and restaurants so if you're finding it difficult to get last minute accommodation like us give this place a go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We arrived early morning off a delayed flight from Singapore. The receptionist was more interested in obtaining the balance in full before showing us to our room, the honeymoon suite! It smelled musty and we opened the double doors leading to a small balcony. These doors and the windows were covered in dirty net curtains hanging off the rails in places. Even more disturbing was the stained and dirty mattress cover, revealed when we pulled back the bottom sheet - disgusting! The receptionist had this changed when we complained but the feeling of unease remained. The breakfast staff were friendly and the food good, the only plus point apart from the location for this self-styled "boutique" hotel.
We enjoyed Manly with its walks, beaches and restaurants and ferry accessibility to Sydney. We cut short our stay giving three days notice but it was not possible for them to give us a refund. We moved to the Hilton for our last three nights in Sydney,slightly more expensive but worth paying for the cleanliness and service
This hotel is badly in need of refurbishment and overall general management. The public areas and courtyard boast old furniture, dying plants, unused stacked tables and chairs and bits of timber. It should re-classify itself as a backpackers hotel and charge accordingly. Alternatively it could look at proper boutique hotels and bring itself up to the industry standard.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Lodge

Address: 22 Victoria Parade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Hotel Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.