We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked place, wicked people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel

Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel
Save
You added Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
68 Pittwater Road, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wicked place, wicked people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Love it
All anyone needs to know

The people and atmosphere are to be beat
The service and knowledgable staff will make your travel experience easier than previously planned

Best times through and through. Close to amenities and fun ;)
Dont feel bad after a night of drunkeness lol

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

came for a visit enjoyed the scenery and the people wont forget it there deffiently going to come back next yeah the rooms are pretty nice the staff were great and it felt like home i would reccomend this hostel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for 6 weeks with my girlfriend, we had a massive room with window for a very good price. Nearly all the rooms are doubles, and few singles so its not a hostel full of dorms and idiots, its mostly couples.
Kitchen is good, no oven, but 8 burners and cupboard/fridge/freezer space for each room, kitchen and outdoor courtyard close at 10pm so no noise from late night cooking/smoking/partying.
Location is perfect, 2 minutes walk to beach, 5 minutes to Coles, Ferry terminal and all the bars, or in the other direction a Harris Farm market (amazing food) just 10 mins walk. Gym and two really nice cafe's accross the road. Tennis courts 1 minutes walk.
Bed was comfy, room had mirror, drawers, desk and clothes storage etc.
The owner is really nice and will make sure your stay here is a good one!
We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back of the house stay super cool in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I haven't stayed in a backpackers before but because we were staying in Manly for over 2 weeks this seemed like an excellent budget way to stay at a good cost. I was very pleased that we'd chosen the Astra. Our room was clean and pleasant and the other facilities, though basic of course, were totally acceptable. While we were there people stuck to the rules about tidying up after themselves most of the time and so there was no problem using the kitchen or with storing our food there. The location is good too, about 5 mins walk from the beach and bars,shops, restaurants. Manly ferry is 10-15 minutes walk away and there's also a bus stop almost right outside. If I go back to Manly this'll be my first choice for accommodation again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

this place in very nice, clean friendly ,and home feeling nice kitchen and back yard and as is for couples only makes it very romantic I will take my honeymoon there when I will get married and have the manager be my best man

Room Tip: rooms in the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place was the cheapest we could find that still had good reviews, however I have two things to say here. First, it is still quite expensive (at least for us). Second, as another reviewer mentioned the management has changed since all those old (and really good) reviews were written.

This is not a party hostel, and that was great for us. All rooms are singles or doubles, and all share bathrooms. The nice thing about our room was that the bed was clean and comfortable, and there are several shelves, tables, and hangers - oh and a desk(!). None of this matches or anything like that, but I hope you weren't expecting it...we were excited to have it. The bad thing is that is feels damp and a bit moldy. In fact the whole house has this feeling.

The kitchen has all necessary dishes and pots, but we found ourselves waiting to cook or eat at the 4-6 person table quite often. (Yet we never had to wait for a bathroom or shower.) Each room is allocated shelf space and fridge space for food. It seems like a good system though someone did mention they had stuff stolen.

There are rules posted around about cleaning up after yourself. It is a bit odd, but probably a few bad travelers ruined it for the rest of us.

The toilets and showers are a bit weird in that they open right to the hostel (not sectioned off into a larger bathroom type area) so if you do anything personal in there it will be hear. Also, you'll need to dress/undress in the shower itself.

The guy running the place now is quite friendly, but he does disappear at times. It is understandable that he has a life...or even just has to run out for groceries. But the front door is locked and more than once new guests showed up and because we were in the first room we had to open the door. Luckily we also had a local sim for our cell and could call the manager for the new guests. Another time someone locked themselves out of their room and we called for that person...but they were basically out of luck until the manager returned.

The location is great. Five minutes to the beach. Ten minutes to the main pedestrian area of Manly. Fifteen minutes to the ferry; and a 30 minute ferry ride to Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had a double private room for $75 for two nights and it was very comfortable. The showers are adequate and the kitchen, albeit small, has everything you need. Having stayed in other hostels in Manly I would definitely choose this one over anywhere else I have stayed. The staff are reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel

Address: 68 Pittwater Road, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Astra Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.