We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Room - a little green oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivanhoe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe House
Save
You added Ivanhoe House to your Saves list
10 Birkley Road, Manly, New South Wales 2095 , Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Manly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hitchin, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Garden Room - a little green oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Room for 3 nights, at the end of a 4 week trip to Australia. We aim to stay in B and B's when we can, rather than hotels, since these can often be impersonal. Ivanhoe House gave us what we were looking for, in a really convenient location and for a very favourable price, when compared with Manly hotels.

The breakfast was of ample variety and quantity and well thought through. It was convenient to be able to enjoy it at whatever time we wanted it - the patio was a lovely place to sit and eat it and felt very secluded, even though it wasn't far from the (very quiet) road at the rear of the property.

The attention to detail by our hosts was good and the room was very clean. The room isn't as large as some we've had but certainly wasn't cramped. A bit more hanging/cupboard space would be welcome but this wasn't a major problem for a short stay. As for the egg boiler - we asked Julie to buy us one to take home, which she did!

Roger and Julie were friendly, ready to have a chat and always helpful. As a little illustration of the level of service, our car to the airport was due to leave at 18.30 on our last day, so Roger and Julie offered to store our luggage during the day. We arrived back at 18.15 to find the car had arrived early and all our cases (and there was a lot of them!) had been brought down to the car and loaded for us, with Roger and Julie enjoying a conversation with the driver.

Yes, we were satisfied with Ivanhoe House and have already booked for New Year 2013/14, when we shall next visit Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmdaustralia, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Frank and Sue, only too happy to help out with the luggage. Had to laugh about the egg machine, we have bought two more for our guests since your visit! So glad you have booked in with us again, we look forward to hearing about your travels, see you in December. Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
52
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Garden Room at Ivanhoe House is cozy, cool and unique. Bay windows and double door, with easy to use privacy shutters, opens to a tiny shade garden where you park your car. Only a narrow, quiet lane separates you from parkland through which you begin your 10 minute walk to the ferry wharf, restaurants, shops and beach. Breakfast is not fancy but well thought out and adequate, delivered each evening to your room with a smile and a friendly chat. In the morning you can eat according to your own plans. Breakfast is cereals, quality yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, boiled eggs, toast, crumpets or english muffins and jams. The little area that holds handy toaster, espresso coffee maker, egg boiler, kettle and fruit bowl can become busy but the lovely quaintness of the room, the quality of the bed, and nice shower make up for any lack of space. If you have plenty of luggage you may find it just slightly small to organize your kit and clothes.
Julie and Roger are fine congenial hosts who are readily available when needed for extras or questions. Julie serves a secret recipe afternoon cake or coconut fruit slice which makes you feel special and pampered. Nights were delightfully quiet. Mornings brought birdsong to your patio door where you could sit outside for the first coffee of the day. A real treat. For serious swimmers there is an Olympic pool open as early as 5:30, a brisk 10 minute walk away on quiet streets. We had an altogether wonderful 3 night stay at Ivanhoe House. We loved Manly and will stay in the Garden Room if we come again.
Barbara Sutherland, Toronto, Canada

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmdaustralia, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Barbara, we so enjoyed having both you and David stay. Glad the cake tasted good! I will send the recipe. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated. We really look forward to welcoming you again to Ivanhoe House. Cheers Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We wanted convenient accommodation to visit our Northern Beaches family- and experienced more than that at Ivanhoe House. Easily found, a warm welcome on arrival, off street parking, garden and park outlook, quiet, very congenial hosts, insider tips on the best Manly dining options . . . . . . all contributing to a satisfying three days stay. We would happily return when again in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Great hear from you and thank you for taking the time to review Ivanhoe House. It was a delight to get to know you both and to share all your travel experiences. Best wishes for your trip to the South Coast and Tassie and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Cheers Julie and Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

"Lovely room. Ideal location near the centre but quiet and leafy with park opposite. We had two very pleasant weeks there. If we lacked anything we only needed to ask and it appeared. Very friendly and helpful. Thanks Julie & Roger we had a great time."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Bruce,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ivanhoe House. It was great that you got to spend some special time with your daughter. Thank you for taking time to write the review, your comments are really appreciated. I hope you will stay with us again if you visit Manly in the future.
Cheers Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we arrived, we didnt really know what to expect, but what a wonderful piece if tranquility we had found....the garden room, with parking at your door, is shrouded by tree's and plants, which gives privacy and a coolness that is needed in the heat of the day...or retreat after a hard day sightseeing......We loved this place from the word go......the accommodation more then met our needs, and the attention to detail is amazing...all the little things you could possibly need are there.....From the crisp bedding, comfy mattress, and plenty of hot water, spotlessly clean, , we could have stayed longer...more then adequate space for two people, with patio area to sit out, enjoy a meal or read...''wonderful''...
We stayed here for 4 nights, what a lovely place to be...the location was great for getting around, the ferry,shops, cafe's and beach a 15 minute walk down through the park....The walk back up the hill a bit of a pull, but bus, or taxi a good alternative if tired....
The breakast items are ordered on a daily basis and delivered afternoon/evening....what a brilliant system and well thought through, it left us able to enjoy or day at our pace without worrying about being tied to meal times...There was more then enough cereals, juices,bread etc supplied and the egg boiler is an item I will purchase once back home.....so easy to use and so clean and quick....
Julie and Roger were such wonderful hosts, welcoming, informative and wanting to please guests...and take interest in guests opinions. We are on a 6 week road trip and by far this is the best accommodation we have been in....so a big ''thank you'' to Julie and Roger for your hospitality and allowing us the chance to share your home....If we return to this area, we will be looking you up '' for sure ''.....our good wishes for future ventures...

Room Tip: Ground floor is the bonus....own parking area and patio in a garden setting....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there, we are SO glad you enjoyed relaxing with us. As we said when you left, you really were the perfect guests and we really loved having the opportunity to make you comfortable. I hope you will stay with us again so that we can catch up on some more of your adventures.

Thanks again for taking the time to send in a review, its really appreciated.

Happy travelling, Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second stay - a great location and great hosts. The units are a short walk to the Beach and to the Ferry for City access. Good value for money with 'local knowledge' thrown in, and lots of 'little extras' available in your room (DVD/books/information). Spotlessly clean. Suitable for business (with a quiet night to yourself), or for pleasure. Enjoy the gardens at your doorstep and all that Manly has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello again Mark
It was great to meet up with you again and to meet your family. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the sun came out for you!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, its really apreciated.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Cheers
Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ivanhoe House was the perfect place to start our holiday in Australia. It has a great location being a short walk from the centre of Manly but enjoying a quiet and peaceful location close to Ivanhoe Park. We were so glad we chose to stay here and not in the centre of Sydney.

The owners, Julie and Roger were brilliant. They were knowledgeable on the local area and made us feel very welcome. We were astonished when they really went out of their way to help us with our connecting journey which would have been very problematic without their help.

When booking I had been a little concerned about the price but now, having experienced the cost of living in Australia and, in particular Sydney, I think it offered very good value for money.

My only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. There was so much that we wanted to see in the area but only had a short time to explore. Thank you so much Julie and Roger!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Guys, we were sad you couldn't stay longer too! You were great fun. Glad we were able to get you on your way and we hope you had a really great campervan trip. Thank you for taking time to send in a review, it is greatly appreciated.

Cheers Julie & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivanhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe House

Address: 10 Birkley Road, Manly, New South Wales 2095 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique B & B is a friendly place to stayWe have been welcoming guests from around the world since 1997. Ivanhoe House is located in a quiet cul de sac facing Ivanhoe Park. Wake to the sound of kookaburras and enjoy breakfast on your private patio or verandah. Manly's beaches, ferries, shops and restaurants are just a five minute stroll away. You can choose the Garden Room on the ground floor or the Verandah Room on the first floor. Both are Queen sized rooms with their own private entrance.We offer a non smoking environment with...FREE WifiFREE parkingPrivate ensuite TV/DVD, radio, books Fridge, Tea/espresso machine and egg making machinePatio or verandahFriendly serviceTake a dip in the ocean before eating breakfast on your patio or verandah. A breakfast basket filled with your menu choices is delivered to your fridge so that you can have breakfast whenever you are ready.Our Menu includes:Fresh fruits in seasonNatural or fruit yoghurtToasts, muffins, crumpets.Boiled EggsFruit juicesTea / coffee"Ivanhoe House Peaceful, Private, Perfect" Maria & John, Sheffield, UK ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivanhoe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.