We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome food,great location, a must do in Manly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouzeria

Ouzeria
1/14 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales, Australia (Formerly Terricotta)
(02) 9976 5688
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 202 restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wholesome food,great location, a must do in Manly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I am a local and my wife and i eat out in Manly on a regular basis. We have found ourselves gravitating time and time again to this delightful Greek restaurant. If lamb is your thing, there is no peer on the northern beaches, or for that matter, perhaps Sydney. My wife had the barramundi on Valentines day, under protest, as barramundi is not her favourite fish, and she was not in the mood for the alternative, lamb. She remarked it was the best barra she had ever had and has changed her mind about this sometimes strong flavoured fish. The wine list is outstanding, including specialty Greek reds and whites, South African selection, along with a fine domestic selection, all reasonably priced. No BYO. The owner is quirky, but passionate about fresh produce, which shows up in quality of the food, down to the moist softness of the warm pitta served with the delicious dips. The wait staff are exactly what I look for in a good restaurant. Quietly efficient. If you want to be fawned over, which I find to be so artificial, go somewhere else. So for a great meal for a vey reasonable price, give it a try. Oh, and the surf is breaking on the beach about 50 metres away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    26
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, if you're prepared to wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We used to go to the the old place - Terracotta - a bit further away from the beach. Owner used to come and chat. Not anymore.

Service was bad! We waited for 1 hour (60 minutes). When I enquired about our food, waiter rudely answered that they made it fresh and we have to wait. Only when I pointed out that other people who came after us and order after us already finished eating, he checked with the kitchen. No apologise nor any kind words.

Atmosphere - The place is too loud for my taste. Inside, you can't hear anything. Sitting outside it's a bit better, but you still have to yell to hear each other.

Food was good, once arrived. Usual lamb off the bone and souvlaki were good. The fish of the day - cod - was a bit chewy with too much oil.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Only went for coffee, but friendly and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We called in for late morning coffee, not realising that the restaurant hadn't actually opened for business by then. Regardless, they were more than happy to serve us a cup of excellent coffee and the waiter was extremely friendly and, once he knew we were visiting the area, he gave us several useful tips about what to do and places to go. We wish we had gone back for lunch, as we ended up at a truly dreadful place (Murray's of Manly - see review, don't go there is my advice), so we feel as though we really missed out. Never mind, next time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good Greek Joint in a prime location. Can't go wrong!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yes the lamb. It's Greek for goodness sake. Slow cooked, tasty, rich, filling. Some nice tasty Greek starters and you're away. Someone said the owner was a tad temperamental (actually he's NOT Greek which might have been his excuse) but he was in great form the night we were there. Couldn't stop chatting and giving us good advice. Pointed us to some very excellent Greek wine just as I was about to choose retsina (you know the one that tastes like pine resin) or domestica (the one that tastes like domestos) being the only Greek wines I know. It was a very pleasant white and wwe throughhly enjoyed it and instantly forgot the name of the grape or the wine!!! C'est la vie (or rather - έτσι είναι η ζωή) as they say in Greece!
Good atmos - a beach view location and goodly Greek grub. What an uncomplicated life. Go for it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location, and very tasty Greek food, particularly liked the cheese parcels drizzled in honey and the rosemary potatoes which were amongst the best spuds i'ver had. Only let down slightly by the restaurant owner/manager, for whom service doesn't always come with a smile. I was a regular here when I lived in Manly, but always felt uneasy when he was around.
But the fact we kept on coming back for more is a testament to the food,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouzeria also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Ouzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.