We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to save you the trouble: don't try it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manly Wine

Manly Wine
8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
02 8966 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 207 Restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manly, Australia
1 review
“Just to save you the trouble: don't try it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Service was terrible: two out of the four dishes we ordered weren't available (at 7pm) and the waitress didn't bother telling us beforehand. The rest of the staff is arrogant and just not nice.
Food is very average and way WAY overpriced (25$ for 200g of salmon without any sauce or side, seriously?)
Wine was good but overpriced.
Worst value for money that we've tried in Manly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    15
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over the top decor but a great spot to watch the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently had a couple of hours off from a weekend conference, so, after wandering through the mall, around the ferry terminal and around some of the bays, a colleague and I retired for a light afternoon refreshment in this spot. Arriving between the lunching and dining crowds meant that we were shown to a gorgeous table at the front of the restaurant and had a fabulous view over the 'surf' beach (several waves at least half a foot high were spotted during our time there). We had some lovely champers and a cheese plate. Service was cheerful and attentive during this fairly quiet trading time. Some entertaining facial hair on the wait staff (the men, in case you are wondering) added to our enjoyment of the afternoon. Certainly a top spot to stop, sit a while and have a refreshing beverage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food & Service did not match Decor & Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location and exciting decor - was perfect for our dinner for 4. Bar service was great - wine list was patchy but at least it wasn't a standard giant beverage conglomerate list.

Service was OK - not terribly attentive especially to the details. I had the lobster and prawn pie which was barely OK - could have really been any sort of seafood - the meat was minced almost a beyond recognition. Was not the deep dish variety either which didn't make seem so 'hearty'. Fries were fantastic and the green beans were a little overlooked and over seasoned.

I would go back again but would not rave about it - a shame as you expect to given the setting and decor

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why
1 review
“Are you kidding me?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a joke! The service was terrible, despite the price range being well and truly into the realm of "rediculous".
The staff were simply too cool to serve their customers until they were good and ready; which meant extended delays standing around at the bar while they chatted among themselves, until they were ready to serve you.
Don't waste your time or money. We demanded our monbey back and left - never to return! EVER.
I'd rather go the fish and chip shop up the road and sit on the beach and eat. At least you know what your in for and will get value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to this restaurant for a celebration breakfast. The location and decor of the place is excellent however we were let down due to the poor selection of food and mostly due to the very poor service and manners of the staff. The menu is restricted to premade sandwiches and a few other premade items. We asked for the ham sandwich and were told no more were available, we also ordered tea and were left waiting a considerable time, when I asked what was taking so long I was told they had run out of tea pots!! We ordered a juice and were given a juice in a bottle with no glass, ice etc even though the cost was more than a take away. The staff were obviously disorganised and unsupervised. One waitresses in particular had no service manners at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manly Wine also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Manly Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manly Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.