We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
+61 81168555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Hugos Manly is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 232 Restaurants in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
2 reviews
“Gorgeous setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

First night in Manly we decided to dine at Hugos, what an experience! We arrived slightly early for the dinner menu and decided to have a drink while we waited. The staff were attentive and friendly but didn't hover. Chose to share two entrées and a pizza. Tuna and scallops were to die for and the pizza was just perfect, wine a little pricey but was well worth it overall!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    206
    48
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, location and quality tucker....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Time to review Hugo's after several visits. An obvious plus point - we keep coming back. Good vibes, very attentive service - but not pushy. a good, shortish menu pricey (this is Sydney after all) a costly wine list, good bar selection. In the words of the cliche "what's not to like?" Our most recent visit caused only one niggle - we were seated next to a service station. Busy staff seemed to think that slamming drwaers and cupboard doors was OK. It wasn't and was soon put right. All in all, a very good place to eat. Beware the cost of parking in Manly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
“chill out on Sydney harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place on a sunny afternoon overlooking gorgeous Sydney harbour. Food Not is very good. cheap but worth it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a pizza lover but these are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I prefer lunch here because nothing creates ambience like being so close to the water and drinking in the view. There is no doubt it is pricey for a pizza but it's not just about the food. I'm prepared to pay for a combination of great service, great location, good ambience and the best pizza (Chilli Prawn the favourite) - all other food is also very good. Wine selection is absolutely fine - I'm not a connoisseur but I know if I like something and nothing has disappointed me yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If only Hugos would update the menu and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good atmosphere although a little dark. Hate having to use an iphone to light the menu. Can be excessively noisy especially if dining after 8.30pm. Service efficient and friendly. Food always fairly good, but the menu hasn't changed much since they opened years ago, so it feels like the same old same old. I really like Hugos and if only they updated the menu I would be there much more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.