We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill out on Sydney harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugos Manly

Hugos Manly
Manly Wharf, East Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
+61 81168555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 231 Restaurants in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
sydney
1 review
“chill out on Sydney harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place on a sunny afternoon overlooking gorgeous Sydney harbour. Food Not is very good. cheap but worth it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    201
    47
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a pizza lover but these are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I prefer lunch here because nothing creates ambience like being so close to the water and drinking in the view. There is no doubt it is pricey for a pizza but it's not just about the food. I'm prepared to pay for a combination of great service, great location, good ambience and the best pizza (Chilli Prawn the favourite) - all other food is also very good. Wine selection is absolutely fine - I'm not a connoisseur but I know if I like something and nothing has disappointed me yet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If only Hugos would update the menu and wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good atmosphere although a little dark. Hate having to use an iphone to light the menu. Can be excessively noisy especially if dining after 8.30pm. Service efficient and friendly. Food always fairly good, but the menu hasn't changed much since they opened years ago, so it feels like the same old same old. I really like Hugos and if only they updated the menu I would be there much more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poshy but a tad cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The view is stunning, it's a good place to catch the vibe of Manly but because it had such good publicity, sometimes the service could be a bit pretended. The snobbishness of some wait staff left little to be desired for... someone need to remind them they aren't Rockpool.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Came here for dinner with friends on a rainy (Sydney) winter evening after work. Glad we had made a booking as it seemed completely booked out when we arrived at 7pm. Good location and atmosphere but a bit loud and only a small table for the three of us, also very close to table next to us. Food (I had the ham pizza) was delicious and they offered gluten free pizza bases, which was great. The angel hair pasta looked good but the portion seemed a bit too small. We had a good evening but moved on after eating our meals, as the meals and one bottle of wine were already quite expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugos Manly also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Hugos Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugos Manly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.