We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hungry jacks is close by and more value...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Watervue

Watervue
94 The Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
02 9977 4581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 202 restaurants in Manly
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: See website.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hungry jacks is close by and more value...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we paid them $100 for 2 people for something that was no where near of quality. chicken was so thin that you could nearly go the the woolies deli and buy shaved chicken that was thicker.... and the salad was a joke on the side.. haha oh a slice of cucumber and a slice of tomato! serious? my cats could have prepared a better salad!
we sat to our entree and while eating it they bring over our main... i was like... um we just got our entree so our main is a bit early.... then the waiter was say 'oh but i already tried to serve it before'..... um did he walk out to our table the first time then walk back inside then straight back to our table to reserve it? but we were ignored and our main was cold by the end of it.

and while eating our main they pack up all the tables around us and take down the umbrella awning thing we are sitting under while it is spitting rain... go figure on that one. but its ok theres no way of making a formal complaint cause no one there listens and you cant mail or email them cause they have no details to do so!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

13% Recommend
    3
    8
    5
    7
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The manager/spruiker abused me!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ordered for my family at the same time as my neighbour, from the take away window. Was told there was a 15-20 minute wait... fair enough, very busy, sunny Sunday afternoon, no problem. We went back after 15 minutes, my neighbour got their order and I waited.... and waited.... and waited. Finally the girl at the desk went to find out what was happening and I was told that it was because I ordered a burger - they usually take longer. The man at the front then asked me a little while later what I had ordered, told him that I had been told it was because of the burger, he then spoke to the girl and turned to me and told me accusingly that I had ordered 2 other items as well (my neighbour had ordered 3 things). After more than 45 minutes, my order finally arrived - when I calmly and politely suggested to the horrible man who stands outside spruiking that maybe they should let customers know when they say 15-20 minutes that burgers would take longer, he screamed abuse at me! Yelled that I should just go to Hungry Jacks, even kept yelling at me as I walked away! After all that the food was not hot and not nice! My salt and pepper squid was passable but the "salad" was one piece of floury tomato, 2 small slices of cucumber and heaps of lettuce with little bits of old chips sprinkled throughout. I suppose thank goodness the fish combo (fish & 2 calamari rings with chips) wasn't hot as my poor starving girls could eat straight away. My husband wasn't impressed with the burger at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“watervue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location, friendly but very disorganised staff. We ordered our young son's meal and drinks with one waiter as he was hungry and we were hoping his childs meal could come before ours and we had to remind two different members of staff for it as it ended up coming way after ours by which time he didn't really want it as we had fed him from all of our plates. One member of staff didn't even bother going to check what had happened to it as he went nowhere near the kitchen or serving area and continued to take orders from new tables. You can never seem to get served by the same member of staff twice which makes it very difficult to split bills if you are in a group as you end up with numerous bills for the same table depending on who has taken the order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great location but-----”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We used the Watervue twice, once for iced coffee [very good] and then for a rapid fish and chips lunch. The waitress service was unfailingly pleasant which is more than could be said of the owner who came across as rude [perhaps he thought he was funny] . Fish and chips not the greatest but inexpensive

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cold food, poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The location was enticing so we tried it, but wished we hadn`t. The chips were cold and the fish frozen, the `perri perri(sic)` chicken was dry and also cold. Get a take away from elsewhere and eat on the front if you want the view - don`t eat here...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watervue also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Watervue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watervue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.