We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B
Save
You added Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B to your Saves list
1/93-95 North Steyne, Manly, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“The perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our recent getaway to Helen's Absolute Breachfront Manly B & B was one of our best yet. Helen's home is immacualte and so incrediably homley. We did not feel uncomfortable at any stage and she made our little boy feel right at home!
Thank you so much Helen for making our stay so memberable, we look forward to visiting you again soon x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Alex, thank you very very much for your lovely review. It really was my pleasure to have you all. Jed is a beautifully well behaved toddler and you as a mother are second to none... I appreciated your concerns about my home with respect to Jed. You are most welcome again any day. Take care, H :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Perfect location if you are visiting Manly. You certainly can't get any closer to the beach front than this. The beds were comfortable and the apartment clean and inviting. Helen was the perfect host. Why would you stay in a hotel when you can relax here in much friendlier surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
James thank you soooo much for your review. Glad the wedding was fabulous and you all enjoyed staying here. Please come again and next time for a couple of days and we can laarrff about the world. Kindest H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Helen was a wonderful, helpful host and she has a beautiful home. The bed was very comfortable. The back room is closer to the bathroom if you want to have more privacy. You can make a tea or coffee and sit out on her very large deck. What a view facing the ocean!
In the morning you can start the day with a walk on the beach. There is a large pool down the beach, if you don't feel like swimming in the ocean. I enjoyed watching the surfers.
Helen doesn't service breakfast, but for the rate no need. You can walk downstairs for a lovely meal, lots of little coffee shops below and Helen know's all the best restaurants in the area, make sure to ask her. We ate at Garfish it was amazing! There is a really nice hike from Manly into Sydney if you have time, it's not all the way into the city, you have to get on a bus at some point. We were lucky we stayed downtown Sydney and then on our way back we stayed in Manly and I'm so glad we did. The ferry ride is great in and back to Manly and it runs late at night. It takes about 15 mins. to walk from the B&B to the ferry docks. It was nice to feel like you were staying in a neighbourhood not just another hotel downtown. She can also arrange a shuttle bus to pick you up at the airport and return for a great price. Much cheaper then a cab.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
A Senior Contributor no less, you didn't tell me that!! Thank you sincerely for this wonderful review. I am always humbled by the comments that fabulous guests take the time to make. Please come again and if you choose to take the continental breakfast rate, Sydney fruit at this time of the year is second to none and the choice is just sensational. Would luv to see your smiling faces. Kindest, H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent a week recently at Helen's Absolute Beachfront Manly B & B and here is our review.
Facility was the best place on the beach for view and convenience, clean and very comfortable with a spectacular view of the beach thru the Norfolk Pines. The folks at home are in awe of the photos of the beach. Helen was a most gracious host, both friendly and very helpful to us, from teaching me how to brew Australian coffee to making sure we had the right taxi to take us to the airport when we had to leave. When we go back we will be sure to make Absolute Beachfront Manly B & B our base from which to start to explore the rest of Australia.
Best of the season to you Helen!
Thanks for everything
Bernie & Erna

Room Tip: Any room at Helen's is fine You can see the beautiful beach from her balcony where you can sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Bernie and Erna, as already said in my emails to all four of you, I luv having guests who really enjoy not only my B&B but my home town of Manly. Thank you for making the wonderful review here a delight to read for my future guests. Please come down again, Kindest H:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a glorious 2 days with my husband. The views of Manly are spectacular. We also watched the sunrise from inside the apartment which felt like a real luxury and indulgence. The apartment was beautiful, pristine and the attention to detail was amazing from the white fluffy towels, the luxurious body moisturizer and chocolates. You can walk everywhere from this beachfront location and we didn't use our car till it was time to head home. Helen was a wonderful and welcoming host and we will definately be back again on a regular basis for a mini break! Thanks so much Helen and look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
You were both FABULOUS guests, cannot wait for your return next week. Thank u for this wonderful review. Happy New Year, Sincerely H :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived here after a long flight and journey. When we got dropped at the building we realised we hadn’t asked for the number of the apartment, but fortunately, Helen was looking out for us and called how to get up to her first floor apartment. We came out of the lift opposite her front door and she was standing there smiling a welcome like we were long anticipated friends. It was a good welcome.

Her apartment is right opposite North Steyne Surf Club and the Beach. It wraps around the front and side of the building so there are really great views. The apartment itself is open airy and very modern. We were given a double bedroom and our own bathroom, which was wall to wall tiled, has a walk in shower, a big corner jacuzzi bath, washbasin and loo. The open lounge, dining room and kitchen are very spacious and there is also another double room used for larger groups of houseguests.
Helen “lives” in another large bedroom with an en suite, and apart from the first evening we didn’t see her. She appears to just make over her place to her guests.
The crowning glory is the wonderful balcony and the views of the beach and promenade, where we spent a few hours just sitting people watching - with a glass of good Aussie wine.

Although this is a Bed & Breakfast, you can decide not to have the Breakfast. We did this, as there are many places in Manly to have a nice coffee etc. So we just had some yoghurt to start the day, which we left in the kitchen fridge.

On our last morning we got up to find the blinds were all closed so we could not go out on the balcony or view the beach. So we packed up and went for a last coffee and muffin on the sea front. When we came back there was a note from Helen saying she had, had to go somewhere. So we just left the keys and departed by the stipulated 10am.

One thing worth a mention; Helen was particularly helpful when I was booking accommodation with her. She advised me how to pay her using PayPal, which was very easy. She also told us of a firm running a shuttle bus service from the Airport to the North Shore, which saved a lot of time and also was a more reasonable price than using the public transport.

It was a magnificent venue in a top position. Wish I was back there now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hi Jane, what an outstanding review...thank you so much. Unfortunately the car service took me away from you on the final morning, thank you for your understanding as you knew that I was not able to be there. So that guests are aware, I draw the blinds so that the notorious Australian sun does not damage my beautiful leather lounge and timber furniture. However, you can always go outside on the balcony thru the Northern glass balcony door to look at the glorious view. My little notes in your room say and explain this to my guests so please do not think that there are any restrictions ever. My smiling face will always be there for you on your next visit and of course the next wonderful guests!! Sincerely, H :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Helen's luxurious and spacious apartment with direct view of the Manly beach and ocean is probably one of the best places to spend a holiday in Manly.
The kind hospitality of Helen makes you feel at home.
Next time I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helens11, Owner at Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It was such a pleasure to have you Ivo, and your sons were welcome to visit you during their Dad's stay. Thank you for your awesome review. Sincerely, H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B

Address: 1/93-95 North Steyne, Manly, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning corporate modern style B&B is located opposite the beach with sensational views offering a divine and relaxing holiday experience. Suit singles/couple/two couples or family. Only one booking taken at a time, no multi-sharing. This accommodation suits guests who enjoy luxury at an affordable price boasting as the only Bed and Breakfast apartment on the beachfront in Manly with true beachfront views. Fabulous dolphin and whale watching from July to December. No hidden expenses of buses and taxis from this accommodation. Apartment is all one level, no stairs and an easy 7 min walk to Manly Wharf or a 2 min bus ride. On the flat in Manly, no hills to climb, no stairs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Beachfront Manly B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.