We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Pizza Bar

Beaches Pizza Bar
22A Darley Road | Shop 5 & 6, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
+6199770078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 207 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Beaches Pizzeria & Cafe as it was originally known, began in 1989. However the baking tradition began years before with a village bakery operating at the present location. Michael Cummins the owner bought the business in 2000 and expanded it to its current size.The hole in the wall known as beaches pizzeria and cafe was literally that, four tables a sandwich bar and a deck oven. Its reputation for the best pizza this side of the harbour bridge has grown to the present day, where people from all walks of life gather in the surrounds of an unpretentious ambiance to casually see out the evening over a glass of wine and some pizza.“Beaches” as its known to the locals has expanded over the years, now encompassing two shops and continually going its own way. No where in the world will you see wine stored upside down around the walls except for beaches, says Mike, we came up with this idea and made all the racks and tables with the help of local craftsman. The slab timber floor rescued from sawmills on the north coast of New South Wales, is a living thing, expanding and contracting with the seasons, and keeping us and our customers ever present, in a throw away society says Mike.“We made a commitment to our business and customers, and we don’t cut corners on quality” says Mike.What has kept beaches at the forefront of the food/wine business over the years is commitment, we are committed to the staff and they to the customers, Our manager is 21 with an average age being 23. The staff are easy going and friendly, down to earth” says Mike.What is in store for our 20 year old business you ask? Well next year like any 21 year old we are going celebrate, we have come a long way from humble beginnings, our technology has advanced as has our desire to reduce our greenhouse footprint , we now use 30% less energy to make our pizza.When the first pizza was made at beaches our manager was one year old, I trust we have the foresight to recognise the potential of young people to keep beaches a leader in the food and wine business, so that our customers and their friends can continue to call beaches their home away from home.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My second visit (first back in 2010) and the pizza was as good as I remembered it to be. Had a great seat the window for people watching, mexican pizza and a glass of wine. Pizza was thin crust, well done.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to ave pizza and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great place for pizza . Not a boy which is a disadvantage for many but worth going anyway for the pizza. A big selection of wine anyway is available . I will be going back . Pizza are small so best to order an individual one for each person ( we often order 1 for 2 people but not here ).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlight, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really easy for families, but still good for adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been three times in the 2 months. Good value, very friendly service and good food. The owner loves a chat.

Have been with teenager and a 5 year old and with a couple of couples. Worked either way. Not too badly priced either. Good for a relaxed night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike c, Owner at Beaches Pizza Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi thanks for your review , its tough for mum and dad to hang in their favourite place sometimes with the kids for fear of disturbing other adults. We find getting the pizza to the kids asap a great way to get past the bewitching hour :) thanks so much for your review and please let me know any ways we can improve, regards mike Cummins.
mike@beachespizzabar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pizzas and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Looking for a great pizza and friendly service at reasonable prices, look no more. We did not book and usually this is an issue however we were greeted and treated like we were regulars ( our first visit). The food was delicious and despite the late hour we were not rushed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike c, Owner at Beaches Pizza Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
hi guys we are over the moon than you enjoyed beaches, please say hi when you are next in,
mike 0418277128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great atmospher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Best pizzas in Sydney, the 'Campbells' is a personal favourite.

Awesome owner, passionate about the restaurant. fast and friendly service.

Top notch!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Pizza Bar also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Beaches Pizza Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Pizza Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.