We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humble little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn North Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn North Shore to your Saves list
Comfort Inn North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Gatacre Ave, Lane Cove, New South Wales 2066, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lane Cove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Humble little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

This place can be a little tricky to get to depending on which way you come, but if all you need is a nice clean room to rest your head then this is a good spot

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
9
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwell Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed here for business as I needed to be somewhere handy on the North Shore. The accommodation is basic, but very clean and comfortable. The service was both efficient and friendly, and nothing was a problem. I had advised them that I would be arriving very late and even though reception was closed, the night porter had organised for the key to be available, so there were no problems. Breakfast was good value, with a range of options. Overall it was excellent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Got a cheap last minute rate for a standard room. First of all was a little tricky to find, and had to go through quite a few back streets thinking we'd gone the wrong way - but found it in the end. Looked a little run down from the outside, being presumably in one of the older areas of Lane Cove. Were travelling with friends, and our room was 'upgraded' - no difference in the room size, just slightly newer furnishings and maybe a paint job. Bed was comfortable, but pillows were really hard. All in all can't really complain - didn't spend too much time in the room, and apart from an extremely hard pillow, everything else was acceptable, including free parking.

Room Tip: Try for an 'upgrade'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed single Saturday evening after experiencing great difficulty finding this hotel, we lost the directions, which is hidden away behind a service station just off the Pacific Hwy and does not have line of sight to this roadway and with minimal signage.
Once there though front of house and room staff were very approachable and helpful.
Rooms were comfy and adequate for short stay visitors. Shower had good water flows in a spacious environment.
10 minute walk to Artarmon rail or probably 20 minutes to St Leonards rail. Buses are available on highway. Eating options are somewhat limited wihin walking distances.

Room Tip: All rooms face away from highway overlooking treed valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here for two night on my first visit to Australia. The hotel had been booked by the company I was working for and I arrived early morning after a flight from London. First thing I need to do was make a 'phone call but as the room wasn't yet ready (not unexpected, given the hour) the receptionist connected me using her desk 'phone at no charge. The room was clean and comfortable and I wasn't as perturbed as some reviewers by being on a corridor overlooking the filling station next door. Breakfasts were excellent, freshly prepared and great value. All in all, I felt the welcome from the proprietors and staff was first rate.
Having stayed in Comfort Inns in Europe and the USA, I felt that this one surpassed many others in terms of cleanliness, friendliness, food quality and value. The rating is based on how I felt about this place and how it compares with others in the Comfort Inn franchise. I'd stay again if a similar opportunity arose.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just stayed one night as going to a wedding early the next day. We had 2 rooms, a double and a family room. They were on complete opposite sides of the hotel complex, although we hadnt asked for them to be adjoining, it would have been handy if they were at least in the same part of the hotel.

Good points:

-Clean rooms
-Heater/AC in room which worked
-Mini-bar
-Tea/coffee facilities
-Large, flat screen TV
-Comfortable beds
-Extra pillows in room
-Parking in front of each room
-10mins walk to nearby shops
-Couldnt hear highway noise
-Complementary body wash & shaving foam in bathroom
-on-site restaurant

Bad points:

-Fan in bathroom was so loud, we couldnt hear the TV over it
-Rooms very dated with some new fittings
-Rooms small, but adequate for 1 night
-Very slow check-in and out. Both times due to a computer problem, then a printer jam then something else- very frustrating when in a hurry
-Friends went at 9:15am to have breakfast in the restaurant, to be told breakfast finishes at 9am on a Sunday!!! The restaurant couldnt even give them some toast! Our friends were the groom and groomsmen for the wedding we were attending. They had planned to eat, then dress for the wedding back in their room. Instead, 2 went to a local cafe and the other 2 went to a drive-through. All ended up late for the wedding.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining if you wants rooms near each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Whilst I had no high expectations, I was happy with my stay despite a couple of hiccups...the free wifi for one hour was not used as it broke down after I got the voucher, and the television had to be retuned to get Fox Sports and even so, the quality wasn't so good.
Otherwise, despite the 50's surroundings and no pool, the room itself apart from the initial musty smell, was in good condition with the bed and bedding in good nick with very nice towels in the bathroom. The bar fridge was cold enough, although it could do with a couple of ice trays which appear to have been missing.
Was able to get a lower price on the hotel's website after ringing first for a stand by rate, so that's a tip...and save on booking fees and credit card charges on other booking sites!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North Shore

Address: 1 Gatacre Ave, Lane Cove, New South Wales 2066, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Lane Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lane Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Lane Cove
Lane Cove Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Lane Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.