We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only let down by the breakfasts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Olympic Park

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney Olympic Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Olympic Blvd & Herb Elliott Ave | Olympic Park, Homebush, Strathfield, New South Wales 2127, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tapas Package
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Homebush
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Only let down by the breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days for a trade show across the road at the Olympic Centre. Very handy location and close to rail network. Hotel was clean, service was good, beds super comfy, the only thing that marred the expierience was the breakfast buffet. The first 2 mornings the selection was poor, no cold cuts, the bacon was swimming in grease and was hard and only scrambled eggs were offered....also, the damn plates were cold and dirty....how hard is it to have a plate warmer....cold food onto cold plates, not a good combo. It wasn't until the 3 morning that we had an Asian group in that we got the full buffet and a choice of eggs....don't know what message this is sending Accor?? Also, would have been nice to have access to additional cutlery and some teaspoons. The fact I have an Accor card slightly mitigated the The A$30 charge per head as you get a 50% discount.
All in all, a good hotel let down by a crappy breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Hotels_SOP, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Borogza65,
We greatly appreciate your review. It was great to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us, however disappointed to learn of your breakfast experience, I can assure you this is not our standard. We strive to offer selection of fresh and organic foods daily and apologise we feel short on this occasion. For your future reference our reasonably priced buffet offers eggs to order, omelettes and complimentary barista made coffee daily for all hotel guests.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and please be assured I have shared your comments with our management team. We apologise we feel short of the mark with your breakfast experience and sincerely hope we are given the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jill Murr
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    346
    145
    32
    22
See reviews for
292
278
59
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here if you wish to be spoken to with any respect because you simply will not get it here at this hotel. Rooms still not ready to be occupied after 2pm and even upon returning to hotel after our function at 10.18pm that night we were then told our pre paid room was not available and that we need to pay an addition $200 if we wish to move Into that same room. Assistant (what a joke-no assistance given) manager Rhu [--] was extremely rude and condescending and NO HELP whatsoever . I suggest you stay elsewhere. And do not bring your cats if you DO stay at this hotel, as the rooms are so small you will not be able to swing them in their.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Aust
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent one night here in a king room and really enjoyed our stay. While the Olympic Park location may not be the best option for those who want to do a lot of city sightseeing, if you have a car or need to be in that part of Sydney, the Novotel would be pretty hard to beat. Our room was very well appointed and a very good size. Bedding was a particular hit - a very comfortable mattress, quality linen and (joy of joys!) a pillow menu. The bathroom was roomy with a walk in shower (no bath). There were plenty of restaurants in the Olympic precinct as well as coffee shops and fast food outlets so dinner was not a problem. The hotel breakfast offered a fair spread and was quite pleasant. Altogether, well worth another visit. For those who want to leave the car down in the carpark, it is a two minute walk from the hotel to the Olympic Park railway station. We did not use the pool, gym or spa so cannot offer an opinion.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs. If you must have a bath, mention it when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Hotels_SOP, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear ROHCanberraAust,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Novotel Sydney Olympic Park. It is always such a pleasure to read such positive posts about guests that have enjoyed their stay. Thank you for your positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you back to Sydney.
Kindest Regards,
Jill Murr
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here recently, fantastic modern room with a great view of Homebush Stadium, big spa and comfortable large suite room. Balcony great too.

Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble, breakfast and lunch excellent and function facilities excellent too.

Another great Accor property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Hotels_SOP, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jacqui,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I was delighted to read your positive comments about our “excellent staff”, your breakfast and lunch experience and ‘excellent’ function facilities. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind Regards,
Jill Murr
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a work conference. The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable but unfortunately the attention to detail was incredibly poor. The staff seemed really disengaged and even a little rude. For breakfast on both days, the hotel was incredibly understaffed, there were no plates or bowls for us to serve breakfast on, nobody at the cash register to take our money or room number and the food was cold. Considering this place is advertised as a 4.5 star level of accommodation, they have a long way to go before this level of service is achieved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Hotels_SOP, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Olympic Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Flolly,
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. It was great to hear you enjoyed the “nicely furnished “and comfortable room. I am however certainly very disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience. Please accept our sincere apologises, I can assure you that this is not to our standard.
Your valid comments will be addressed with the Food & Beverage Manager to ensure improvements in our delivery. I do hope that we have the opportunity in the future to service you and restore your confidence in us.
Kind Regards,
Jill Murr
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sydney Olympic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Olympic Park

Address: Cnr Olympic Blvd & Herb Elliott Ave | Olympic Park, Homebush, Strathfield, New South Wales 2127, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Strathfield > Homebush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Homebush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Olympic Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park is located 14km from the Sydney CBD, 6km from Parramatta CBD and 21km from Sydney Airport. The hotel is surrounded by 640 hectares of parklands with over 30km of pathways to explore on foot or by hiring a bicycle. Leisure activities available within Sydney Olympic Park include the 4 Aquatic Centre pools, stadium tour, archery, trapeze school, golf driving range, tennis, factory outlet shopping and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Sydney Olympic Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park Hotel Homebush
Novotel Hotel Homebush
Accor Sydney Olympic Park
Sydney Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Olympic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.