We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst pizza I have ever had.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paolo's Pizzeria Restaurant

Paolo's Pizzeria Restaurant
42 Lyons Road, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia
61 2 9181 4175
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 42 restaurants in Drummoyne
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst pizza I have ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Waited 50 minutes for 2 small pizzas. When I asked when they would be ready I was told soon. When I aked why they were taking so long the manager was rude and asked me whether I was a chef and could do any better.
When the pizza arrived it was terrible. The base was like cardboard and the topping consisted of what seemed to be Franklin's own brand ham, prawns and cheese.
Best Pizza I have had was from a small shop near St Marks in Venice. Worst Pizza I have had was from Paolo's in Drummoyne.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    2
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A gem hidden away in suburban Drummoyne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

You wouldn't know from the glass walled extension that juts into the Sutton Place shopping plaza at Drummoyne, but Paolo's Italian restaurant serves delicious meals in addition to the comprehensive pizza selection for which it is more usually known.

We had grilled veal with garlic oil, fettucini carbonara, chicken schnitzel and an hawaiian pizza. My veal was excellent, my wife's pasta was very nice (and a huge serving too) but could have done with a little more flavour she thought, my son's chicken schnitzel was very tender and very lightly crumbed - absolutely perfect, and my daughter's pizza exactly to her liking. Although most of the desserts are the standard (very nice) Mr Pisa gelato range (my spumoni was wonderful) they also have a home made tirimisu that you have to ask for. As a tirimisu connoisseur my wife thought it was one of the best she's tasted, so that's a great recommendation!

The service can be a bit slow when they're busy but as suburban restaurants go, Paolo's is reliable and the food is high quallity.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Italian family restaurant for authentic pizza/pasta with service at times unpredictable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ive been going to this place for over 25 years. It's never really changed...

The Pizza is my favorite and it too as never changed, yum...

Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST PIZZA IN THE INNER WEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Pizzas just as you get in Italy. We've been going here about once a month for the last 6 years. The service is always pleasant the pizzas are awesome. Highly recommend Paolo's.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Own and operated by same family for 30 years. Authentic home style Italian cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

If you want a place that has home style Italian meals made on the premises then this is it. Great value and service. Try the home cooked cannaloni enough for 2 people.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paolo's Pizzeria Restaurant also viewed

Croydon, Burwood
Drummoyne, Sydney
 
Drummoyne, Sydney
Drummoyne, Sydney
 

Been to Paolo's Pizzeria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paolo's Pizzeria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.