We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a let down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecco Restaurant

Ecco Restaurant
2 St Georges Crescent, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia
61 2 9719 9394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Drummoyne
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've been here a few times and weekend lunch is always really busy. I prefer weeknights as it's a bit quieter. The one thing I really love about this restaurant is the lighting, not being a lover of downlights in restaurants and also quite OCD about lighting, this restaurants ticks all the boxes in the atmosphere department. The staff are always helpful and a smile goes a long way with me. The food is consistently good, and while not something that you'd rave about for eons, I've never had any complaints, neither has my grumpy mate from Melbourne. Always reliable, always good, well priced, and word is getting out, so remember to book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Celebrated 20th wedding anniversary with a quiet dinner for four (us plus the kids). Great table by the window, spectacular views and the food matched the surroundings - not over complicated but wonderful ingredients treated well by the chef. Feather light calamari, sensational gnocchi gorgonzola and the steak was perfectly cooked medium rare.

The busy surroundings and the friendly but efficient wait staff plus the genial host Claude make this a stand out - highly recommended if you are looking for quality Italian cuisine with a view to match!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Living locally we have visited Ecco on many occasions. The food is much to our liking. The harmonious combination of great food and service makes Ecco an enticing experience. The friendly and welcoming team will ensure that we will return time and again. With Sydney Harbour in the background it is the perfect setting for a long lunch or evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“View without the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was awful. Overpriced. Not worth it. Chef made is gnocchi that resembled mashed potatoes. Then told us that's how gnocchi is meant to be served. I think not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We are lucky to be locals,and this is our favourite special restaurant, however, all our visiting overseas guests have raved about it as well. The food - fine Italian , never disappoints. Wonderful fresh ingredients, treated with respect, superb flavours and textures. The service is professional - knowledgeable, attentive friendly staff ensure an enjoyable experience. The view is of the quieter inner harbour but nevertheless spectacular. The elegant space makes the most of the view.
For those visiting Sydney, we recommend going a little out of the way for wonderful food , great service and a beautiful Sydney Harbour vista.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecco Restaurant also viewed

Drummoyne, Sydney
Drummoyne, Sydney
 

Been to Ecco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecco Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.