We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Birkenhead

Cafe Birkenhead
Cary Street, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia
61 2 9181 4339
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 45 Restaurants in Drummoyne
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely selection for lunch menu, and excellent food. Friendly staff with great venue and water views, plus easy parking at Birkenhead Point.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice views and nice meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a nice place after you've been spending all your money at the outlet. Meals are very generous and lots to choose from. IT was fresh and staff very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The team were easy to work with, we were offered the best possible package for our needs and the food & service was exceptional!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Still excels after many visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When you keep going back to a restaurant sooner or later you expect to be disappointed, but Café Birkenhead seems to be an exception. Without fail on every visit I have only had good service, good food, good views and a great atmosphere that's quiet enough to have a business meeting over a meal or a milkshake.

The chicken schnitzel remains a favourite but it is only a smidgin above a dozen other excellent dishes, and the milkshakes are terrific too!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SicilianParramatta, Manager at Cafe Birkenhead, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi philipargy,

Thanks for your recent review for Cafe Birkenhead. We are pleased to hear you continue to dine with us and each time it remains the same.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

The Team at Cafe Birkenhead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Long wait, terrible coffee and bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this cafe to anyone. We ordered coffee and cakes - the coffee took 30 mins to arrive and only half of us received our coffee which was lukewarm and horrible and the cakes didn't arrive. There was no apologies for the long wait and when asked to speak to the manager, the waiter said he had no time to talk to us so we paid for the coffee that did arrive and left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Birkenhead also viewed

 
Drummoyne, Sydney
 

Been to Cafe Birkenhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Birkenhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.