We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here four times and it is always very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Double Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Double Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 45 Knox St, Double Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2028, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Double Bay
Leeton
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Stayed here four times and it is always very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is not a 5 star luxury hotel but it is unique and very friendly. If you want all the luxuries then this place is not for you but the prices are very affordable and the location is tremendous. The rooms are a little jaded, but this also adds to the charm. They are very clean and private. Some rooms are better then others and try to get a top floor room if you can. You can walk around the Double Bay village for hours, people watching, stopping for coffee, food or a beer. The 18 Foot Sailing club down on the water is a must as is the Golden Sheaf Hotel and Cosmopolitan Cafe. The hotel attracts a lot of interstate guests who are in in Sydney for some type of event and this place is perfect for tose tpe of visitors. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
19
30
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Family deluxe room was sparse , cheaply furnished and the air con was noisy - Staff very helpful at check in but that's about all folks, Oh maybe not best and most powerful shower I have had - first trip to double bay will go back but not to the Savoy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I picked the best room (and paid for it mind you) and it was still very disappointing. The rooms and the hotel for that matter are very tired and in real need of a serious upgrade. TV didn't work, air con was really loud but the location was good.
The lift was the slowest lift i have ever been in and i wasn't sure if it would actually get me to my floor.

Room Tip: Stay with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

we stayed only 2 nights, our main purpose was site seeing, so the only time we came back was to sleep. which did not come easy with people using staris (oh the footsteps).
our room was located at the back so we were woken up by the siren on garbage truck on his rounds.
Room size and amenities were avg. for the price of it.

Great people. would i stay there again , Yes.

Room Tip: Book a room that does not face the alley and away from the steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Have now stayed at the Savoy Double Bay 3 times and think I will always stay there when in Sydney .
Its in a great location with all forms of public transport close by so access to all of Sydneys sites is easy . Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful . The rooms are a touch small and they could do with a coat of paint and in some place the carpet could be attended too. But the bed was very comfortable and gave us three very good nights sleep .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Tribulation, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was everthing I expected. For the price you get a clean very functional room, which while small is adequate. The breakfasts are very reasonably priced and great value. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had one of the rooms that are adjacent to to a common area, and the only slight issue was the smell of cigarette smoke from this area.
Anyone who wants a reasonably priced romm near the city would be happy with this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttonwillow, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stopped at the Savoy after three weeks in Australia and was looking for an affordable place in Sydney to rest up before heading back home.
I rejected the first room as it was on the street, and adjacent to a type of upper lobby, where guests could meet to visit. This lobby was surrounded by rooms and I would advise not staying in anyh of them. I could easily hear the people visiting and wanted something more quiet.
I was moved to another room, which overlooked a kind of center court yard, that was very quiet.
The hotel is very dated, something that I didn't mind and in fact enjoyed. Furnishings are old, but adequate. Same with bathroom, but spacious enough as was the room.
If you are looking for an affordable place, that is near some very good restaurants and just has the basics, this is your place. If you want a modern, up to date hotel with all the perks, look elsewhere.
I would not hesistate to go back as my overall experience was positive.

Room Tip: stay off the street and away from the lobby that adjoins rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Double Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Double Bay Hotel

Address: 41 - 45 Knox St, Double Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2028, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Double Bay
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Double Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Double Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Double Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Double Bay Hotel
Savoy Double Bay Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Double Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.