We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my fave treats to myself ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Salt

Summer Salt
Mitchell Rd,, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
(02) 9523 2366
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Cronulla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of my fave treats to myself ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have dined at Summer Salt on 3 occasions, each time beating the previous. The mushroom tart is rich and tasty, scallops highly recommended, a nice light choice, the duck main you just have to try, I had it today and it was delicious, I have had two fish dishes which were both cooked well. The view of the beach is gorgeous, definitely try go for lunch as you wouldn't see too much during dinner. The restaurant itself is well looked after, clean, friendly staff, good food recommendations. An overall great experience. I would only go as a treat to myself, that's how good it is!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Location to Envy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Beautifully located on the beach with full length windows to take in the view, went there for lunch but I'd imagine could be quite romantic at night to go for stroll along the beach after dinner.
Lunch was well presented, taste not so memorable. Good place to hang after work on Fridays, I'm thinking for a quality meal great location and well stocked bar, lunch for the view.
Probably won't go back as out of my way but I sense its a popular local haunt. Service and staff a little above the standard, definitely not fine dining though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chips a BIG dissappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a very nice lunch here 1.5.2014.
Service was excellent and food was delicious until the chips with sweet onion salt arrived ....TERRIBLE ..... they were very thin and what appeared to be frozen chips that were soggy and dreadful and $8 a serve.If they had been busy then perhaps they would have run out of quality chips but the dining area was only half full although there was what appeared to be a private function in one part of the dining area.
A shame that an otherwise great dining experience was sadly let down by a overpriced side dish.
Also they could do with checking the toilets during service as by 2 pm there was no paper in one stall and wet floors and basin and full bin.
A fine dining experience is made up of many components and attention to detail in all arrears covers that and what's with the billowing white curtain separating a reception area and the dining room ? makes it look like a cheap alternative to a stylish partition.
Sadly on this visit an otherwise delightful lunch was let down by these details.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We live locally and have dined at Summersalt on numerous occasions. BUT this was the worst dining experience we have ever had in Cronulla. So, for Summersalt to be classed as fine dining is a joke.My entree of masterstock duck ravioli was so salty it was inedible. My steak was tough and overcooked, my husband ordered 1/2 lobster, ( extremly small) which came with HUGE wedges, and a small side salad, priced at $60.00 , other places in Cronulla advertise the same thing for $20.00 , you may not have the view , but the meal is still the same. Then for desert , a steamed coconut and macadamia pudding, well when this arrived it was a small disc on the plate, that was obviously steamed WAY too long or overheated in the microwave, rock hard and inedible. .
All in all a HUGE disappointment and we will not be going back there are better places in Cronulla to spend your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so fine dining”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

4th time here and patronizing staff with significantly over priced food. Lamb so tough couldn't cut or chew, advised staff, no follow up. Kangaroo tasted like it had been sitting on the pass for some time. Sons dessert not even offered despite kids meal purchased. Overall, significantly over priced, patrons in thongs and t shirts...at these prices, expect more than a view

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Salt also viewed

Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Summer Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.