We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duck Republic

The Duck Republic
Shop 2, 59 - 65 Cronulla Street, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9527 9427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Cronulla
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Definately worth checking out the food here is amazing and if you are into quality fresh produce the duck is the place to be. Highly recommend. The staff are wonderful as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went here with my partner for valentines day. Fresh salted bread with olive oil as an appertiser. Bread was gorgeous! Mains - barramundi for me, steak for him. Both were full of flavour but a little overcooked. Dessert of salted pecan pie was the stand out dish of the night. Also had the cheese plate - a little pedestrian. All in all, a good night food wise. The staff really made the night. Excellent service, really friendly. I'd go back, but it's not on the top of my list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing for its reputation esp. On Valentines day!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food was presented really well, 10/10. Unfortunately the taste and flavours did not match. I had the twice cooked confit duck which was dry and tasted more like beef jerky, the sauce and flavours were all too sweet and did not have a nice balance of flavours. My partner had the tandoori pork belly which unfortunately was rubbery, the skin was not crispy and lacked the tandoori flavour. No attention to detail from the wait staff and Not once did the waitress ask how our meals were.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolans Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the better ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited this restaurant with 2 friends. Found the food to be very tasty but the portions size on the small side. The staff were attentive at the beginning of the meal but then forgot to bring a second glass of wine that was requested. We did not feel rushed at all during our meal which was welcoming. Would return when there is a menu change to try again but will visit other places in the mean time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you're a foodie, this is THE place in Cronulla.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been eating here since they opened late 2012. We've eaten at numerous restaurants in Sydney and overseas and the quality and flavors are second to none. This is THE place to eat when dining in Cronulla or the Sutherland Shire. We have been lucky to try so many dishes as they update the menu every 3 month's and I'm yet to get a meal that is average. Not one dish that we wouldn't order again. They've just moved into bigger premises which is a bonus as it means we should be able to get a booking more often. Geoff and the team have been doing a fabulous job and they'll continue to get our business! Hubby has one request, put the lamb cigars back on the menu - thanks Geoff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duck Republic also viewed

Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to The Duck Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duck Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.