We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Cronulla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Cronulla to your Saves list
Rydges Cronulla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Rydges is in a Great location , we had s nice quiet room, Lots of great dining options and the Staff were very friendly. Will stay again in December. Parking is expensive, so find something on the street. Close to beaches and about 25 mins to airport.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in December.

All the best
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    96
    57
    41
See reviews for
57
98
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Cronulla is a terrific part of Sydney - a beautiful beach and services, and it does not take itself as seriously as many other Sydney beachside suburbs. Rydges and it's previous incarnations has been a part of the Cronulla furniture for many years, in a great location right opposite the beach and close to all the attractions and facilities. The downside is that it is pretty tired. Too young to be grand, to old to be trendy. But if you can look past the poor water pressure, pokey lifts, lack of on-site parking and sticky balcony doors, then Rydges is a very reasonable stay. Front desk staff are great, the cafe is well set up, the views are excellent from about the 6th floor and prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the northern end, they overlook a busy intersection and are closer to the nightclubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the review, you will be happy to learn that we have just had our pumps serviced which has now rectified any previous water pressure concerns, unfortunately with the lifts and car park we do not have a lot of control of, however there is of off street parking options in Cronulla. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and the service that Rydges Cronulla has to offer.

Best regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gundaroo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment
Plenty of room and the views are fantastic. Staff are wonderful as is the restaurant and bar area.
The rooms need some TLC but are very clean .close to everything , A nice place stay , near the beach and 30 mins to the airport

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the review, our 2 bedroom apartments are located on the top floor of the hotel and have fantastic views of the ocean and Gunnamatta bay making them the ideal room for families or when travelling with a group. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and well maintained however the bathrooms were a little dated - still using old fashioned shower curtains. The ocean view was gorgeous and it was lovely to sit out on the balcony enjoying the sun. The bar and dining area was a really casual and relaxed space. All in all a comfortable place to stay in a top location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for the review; it certainly is the perfect time of year to be soaking up the suns warmth and enjoy the atmosphere of Cronulla. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges in the near future.

Best regards
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently ate the buffet breakfast at Rydges and sadly have to say we were disappointed. We were informed at the buffet reception that breakfast was finishing in 30 minutes but we were fine with that. The food was also fine, no complaints. The problem was that staff were so focused on clearing up and closing the buffet service that we felt like we were in the way, an inconvenience to them, invisible. They are only small things but they all added up to contribute to an overall disappointing experience. The coffee was lukewarm (and that's being kind), there was no milk therefore had to find a staff member and ask for some, there was no butter or margarine so again had to ask for some, no glasses for the orange juice so after much searching grabbed a wine glass. Once at the table we discover there were no knives (they keep cutlery in a holder on each table) so I walk from table to table to table looking for knives. I know the staff could see me as there were only 3 other groups in the room yet nobody assisted. Finally I sit down to eat my breakfast. The chairs are old, dated and odd - similar to outdoor chairs you might relax in but then cant reach the table properly. While eating we observed a couple approach the area near the register. It was obvious they wanted service but they were ignored by the 2 girls working and walked out. Still within our 30 minute time period we got up for seconds but found that we were somewhat in the way as staff were preoccupied with putting everything away. It was a frustrating breakfast and considering there are so many other options in Cronulla we wont be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the review, it is disappointing to read that a few basis have been missed by our food and beverage team which have overall lead to disappoint dining experience. I have passed your comment onto our food and beverage manager and executive chef for further investigation. Should you be returning to dine in the hotel I ask that you contact me prior as I will make sure the necessary is in place.

Thanks and regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here at rydges cronulla and once again they never let my experience down 1 bit!! i am a rydges member of many years and have to say this location and hotel is my fav most of all! its the little touches they just makes my stay just wonderful! i was celebrating a special milestone and i mentioned it in my booking remarks and this was taken note of as when i checked in , the staff recognised this and wished me well and then when i got to my room, wow there was a note from the manager and also a fruit platter for me wishing me congratualtions ..i booked a queen ocean room view and the view of the beach is just beautiful! the staff were always happy to help, even when i asked for a quiet room not next to party goers so i can relax they were ever so helpful and very accomodating. I even had the $5 tapas and drinks on the friday night deal they have between 5pm -7pm and wow the food was really good... i really cant fault this place i keep coming back and never ever have an issue of returning, and the dream beds wow i would love to own one!!! thank you to the wonderful staff for making my 2 night stay just lovely!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the review and for being a loyal Rydges Priority Guest Rewards member we really appreciate your support. I and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where you will be well looked after.

All the best
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here after a disastrous first stay. Hotel offered us a good deal. First up staff were great friendly and always happy to help. Noticed a staff member chatting to an elderly man on his own and he stayed for quite some time listening to him. Breakfast was ordinary and most items cold which we decided to avoid.
Our suite was spacious but dated with old furniture and fittings. Lounge that had definitely seen better days and the light fittings in the main room gave no light.
Previous occupants had obviously partied hard. Drinks were sprayed on the walls and mirrors on our wardrobe but not cleaned up by staff. Most comfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel. This hotel has the best location. Views were to die for ! Wonderful and in the middle of all the action. But little things stop Rydges from being 5star like a toilet roll holder that was broken. It's not hard to fix but stops you recommending it to others. On checkout staff member did not even ask us if we had enjoyed our stay. So different to check in where the fellow was soooo helpful. They have to remember little things count.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and for returning to the hotel. I have passed on your comments to our executive housekeeper to have any cleanliness matters rectified. I appreciate your comments about the staff, beds and view. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cronulla and I am sure your next stay with be an even more positive one.

Kind regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Cronulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Cronulla

Address: 20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Cronulla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Cronulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Cronulla
Cronulla Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Cronulla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.