We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay by the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Cronulla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Cronulla to your Saves list
Rydges Cronulla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay by the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night to attend a wedding nearby. The price was AUD273 including a MasterCard surcharge. Parking in the basement was an extra AUD18 which we paid in cash. They have taken an extra AUD1.02 which we are not sure what this is for.
The room was a twin bed with nice views over Cronulla beach. The room was clean and the bedding was most satisfactory. The was no place to put a suitcase except on the floor or coffee table, but there was an empty alcove in the room. There was a bit of noise around 3:00am as party goers were returning home, though not into the hotel.
The bathroom is in need of a deep clean with the grout in particular showing mould.
The included breakfast was average, bacon cold and hard, but lots of other choices. Tea was coolish and served in coffee cups.
Regretfully the Wi-Fi was chargeable, but we were entitled to a 50% discount.
We don't consider that it was anyway value for money and would not stay again, however the staff were most helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ocean side. Persons with leg disabilities should ask for a room with a shower s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and for choosing to stay with us. The $1.02 charge on your credit card is an authorisation that occurs on check in, this will be released in 5 working days. I am glad that you have enjoyed the bed and the view; the weather this time of year has been fantastic. It is concerning to read the comments regarding the bathroom and our executive housekeeper has paid extra attention to this room. I appreciate the kind comments regarding the staff which have been shared with the team; kindly take note that we can offer rooms with walk-in showers if requested prior to check in.

All the best,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    93
    56
    41
See reviews for
55
97
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed there twice in the past few months. On both occasions we had a one bedroom apartment. Check in was good and the staff are friendly and efficient.

The views over Cronulla Beach and the bay behind are wonderful. The rooms are reasonable in size but are well overdue for refurbishment. Carpets are worn and faded. The bathrooms are outdated. It is an old building!! No valet parking but has reasonable secure self parking spots.

Very noisy late at night and early hours of the morning so if you like sleeping with the balcony doors open to listen to the waves crashing on the beach you won't get much sleep!!

Yesterday (Suunday) afternoon they had a three piece band playing. Sorry guys but it was awful. The vocals were okay but drowned out by the drummer who struggles to keep time :(

I'd love to see the place refurbished and the air conditioning upgraded. Not up to the Normal Rydges standard we've experienced in other locations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and for continuing to support Rydges hotel group. I am glad that you have enjoyed you stay; I would like to take this opportunity to mention that we are currently finalising dates to install our new air conditioning chillier unit which will be up and running in the coming months. With regards to the band playing on the afternoon on Sunday the 14th of July, we have taken note of your comments and will be considering an alternate performer, kindly take note that we have a rotating band schedule to ensure the music is always varied on a week to week basis.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a reunion at the Cronulla RSL and booked a weekend package. A bit of confusion on arrival over parking, but was sorted quickly to our satisfaction. A great(large)room overlooking Cronulla beach with fab views. Had dinner on the 1st night which was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the beach (we had room 703)
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the review; I hope your reunion went well and we certainly enjoyed having you stay with us. Our ocean view rooms have the best views in Cronulla and at this time of year the weather has been perfect. Our Mundo restaurant runs an extensive tapas and a la carte menu for dinner and a full hot breakfast buffet selection each morning, glad that you enjoyed both and I have shared your comments with our food and beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks and regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great Location .. ... ... Parked the car underground .. Check in went well ....... Our Room was massive heaps of room to move around ... Had Beach front location ... Room was very clean happy with what i got . Staff are very friendly and helpfull . Thanks again and see you in June 2014 again ...

Room Tip: Great Location .... Corner suites are large and sunny as well .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it is always very satisfying to learn when our guest’s expectations have been met. I have shared your comments with the team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in June 2014. Thanks again.

All the best
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arrived late ish, no problems with check in. Booked well in advance including car park. Drove under after check in but not spaces except roped off area. Had to ring reception which was annoying, but small issue. They came down, but i had to be double parked in which was a little annoying.

Wife asked for trolley for luggage, they told her that they had lost the cart? Then suggested she cart up luggage without help! What the ???. Eventually helped her out but not before she was made to feel that she was a nuisance.


Room ok and quite comfortable but some tired features like rotting bottom of bathroom door, dodgy latch on bathroom window. Could use some tlc!

Shower powerful and hot 5 stars here.

Bed comfortable. Staff friendly enough but not 5 star standard.

Pricey for what u get, but sensational location.

Room Tip: Ask for end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments; we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cronulla.

Thanks and regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is pretty hip and modern immediately upon entering and all the hotel staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful.

The room itself was rather large and the bed was incredibly comfortable - I slept wonderfully. The temperature control worked great and I was able to keep the room crisp and cool, just how I like it.

The room could use some minor fixes and updating - the bathtub had some scuffs and stains, and some of the grout was a little grimy. I was told by a coworker their room had a microwave, though mine did not, and there were some dead gnats in the bottom of the electric kettle. Easily washed out, but still a gross oversight by the cleaning staff.

The location was fantastic though! I had great views of the ocean and a big balcony, and right around the corner was a mall with great shops, food, and the train station. Restaurants and grocery stores were right within walking distance, making it easy to get some takeaway back to my room.

It was a nice experience, though I think some small fixes and updating could do well for them and their customers' experiences.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your right, the beds and the views are fantastic. The comments regarding the cleanliness are concerning and have been shared with the Executive Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Thanks and regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Only stayed for a night but was very disappointed. Very busy when checking in & out, found reception hard to get a hold of also. After entering our room, all we could hear was the sound of the wind as the balcony sliding door wasn't sealed properly, we were facing the beachside. However we did get our room swapped after it was inspected. Good central location in a very busy area & a little noisy but only a short walk to the beach. Not the usual standard I've seen from other Rydges around Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Kent_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, I believe that you stayed with us over the summer school holiday period which is peak season for the hotel and the local area, your comments have been noted and we will review our staffing levels coming into summer, thanks again.

Kind regards,
Matthew Kent
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Cronulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Cronulla

Address: 20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Cronulla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Cronulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Cronulla
Cronulla Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Cronulla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.