We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Cronulla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Cronulla to your Saves list
Rydges Cronulla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here for an anniversay. While it was comfortable, it was a little dated. The curtains had rips in them, and the mattress tended to sink in the middle. The bathroom was older style.

Breakfast was part of the package, we went down for breakfast & found if you wanted coffee other than instant, you had to pay for it - disappointing. I was looking forward to raisin toast - there was none. There was a range of food, but it was a little disappointing. Juices were limited, I think they needed more staff to top up these.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, I have passed your comments on to our executive chef for recommendations, unfortunately espresso coffee is an additional cost to most hotel breakfast packages however we do offer tea and percolated coffee with our breakfast package and no additional charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    93
    56
    41
See reviews for
55
97
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our bridal party booked to stay at Rydges over the weekend (Friday & Saturday evening). We had booked 3 rooms including the penthouse suite. During our stay we had several issues, which began on Saturday morning when we phoned reception to ask for 6 champagne glasses. The staff member responded to "hi, how are you?" with "I'm busy" and said she would "see what she could do" about bringing the glasses up to us. Upon arrival at our room dumped the glasses on the bench and said "this isn't usually my job, I'm just covering the restaurant today", before leaving in a huff. We also had an incident where the smoke alarms were set off (falsely) and were in the middle of our wedding preparations, conveniently during this time our room phone became "unable to connect" and we were unable to call reception. The worst issue, however, occurred the evening of the wedding, where upon returning to our 2 bedroom penthouse suite we discovered that the 2 single beds that had been in the 2nd bedroom with our personal belongings on them had been taken out of our room and the carpet had been sprayed with a mould removing solution, all we were left with was an empty bedroom and a very smelly room, leaving half our bridal party with nowhere to sleep at 1230am. Upon calling reception to report this problem we we told there were no extra beds except for trundle beds, which were delivered to our room half an hour later with no pillows or blankets. Again we had to phone reception and they delivered pillows and blankets.... This time with no pillow cases, another call to reception was made to request pillow cases. We all had to sleep n the living area of our suite on trundle beds due to the horrible chemical mouldy smell of the second bedroom. The manager on duty that night dealt with our issues in a defensive and unprofessional manner, we were most unimpressed with the service and the way in which we were dealt with during our stay. This tired old hotel is not worth it, you would be better off at the YHA youth hostel up the road. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

only luke warm water & low pressue in the bathroom
poor quality dry cleaning service - trousers were returned more creased than went sent out & had to re-iron
under cover parking is good but can be difficult to get into the first time and at $15 per night on top of room rate is too expensive.
I was surpised that they still use high usage toilet suites.
Very good breakfast spread.

Room Tip: ocean view, but don't leave sliding door open because of noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've stayed in more pleasing 2 star hotels in the backwaters of Eastern Europe. I'm no quality snob, but I do expect to get what I pay for and this hotel would be overpriced at 50% off. It feels tacky with fraying carpet and a 1970s, chipped bathroom that needs a good scrub.

I would have given them a break if the staff had been nice, but they were not. And our 'champagne and chocolates on arrival' was a bottle of cheap sparkling and a small box of supermarket chocolates hiding in the bar fridge.

Room Tip: The ocean view is pretty - it nearly distracts from the rort that is the rest of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Thought Hotel and location was quite good. Room was ok with balcony overlooking the ocean. Easy check in and out. The room could probably do with a little freshen up but was clean.
What I do hate in Hotels like this one is they haven't replaced toilets with water saving cisterns, yet give you water saving shower heads that deliver no water. Overall though a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try the pub across the road and enjoy the scenery!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed here before and previously reviewed this hotel. Recently I stayed again (not by choice but due to company booking). My last review was very negative as the room was just awful, on this occasion however the room had undergone some renovation and was at least acceptable.

This is still not a great hotel and I would not choose to holiday here, but for business travel, providing you get a renovated room, it is acceptable. I found the staff to be helpful and freindly and the breakfast okay. Parking is $15.00 which I consider about normal. The location has always been good if you want to stay in this part of Sydney.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book you confirm you will have a renovated room, not sure how far through doing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been back twice now & would definitely go again if we go back to Cronulla.
The rooms are dated but clean & the beds & pillows were extremely comfortable. The staff are helpful & friendly.
A very short stroll to restaurants & shops.
Don't forget to book a car space in advance if you need one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Cronulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Cronulla

Address: 20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Cronulla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Cronulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Cronulla
Cronulla Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Cronulla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.