We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view - very tired room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Cronulla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Cronulla to your Saves list
Rydges Cronulla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view - very tired room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here 31st January on 6th floor, fantastic view, room reasonable size but felt dirty, badly needs painting, bathroom tiles and grout needed a serious clean, over bath clothes line fitting hanging loosely, door stopper also falling off WIFI access was very expensive but I didn't use it. Should gut my room and completely renovate. Lifts need redong as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, I have passed you comments onto our Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance Manager has spent some extra time bringing the room back up to standard. With regards to the wifi we have recently upgraded our system and offer a 50% discount for all Priority Guest Rewards members, this membership is free to join online or at any Rydges Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    93
    56
    41
See reviews for
55
97
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just stayed in Rydges Cronulla and was most disappointed. This hotel is very tired. Our room had air con which rattled all night and produced no cool air whatsoever, The curtains were torn, the shower was a trickle, there was a pool of water in the lift every time we used it, even when returning late at night. The room rate was very expensive. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the sea view is gorgeous. But for the money paid, I expected a much higher standard of accomodation which I have been accustomed to with other Rydges venues. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
During the summer month with the beach so close we have constant issue with surfers coming back from the beach first thing in the morning, at times we do miss the fact they left water in the lift. As soon as we are informed we have it cleaned up, I guess that's one of the downfalls of a beach location.

The most comfortable bed in town is The Rydges Dream bed which is exclusive to our hotels, like sleeping on a cloud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in room #601. There was no AC and the room smelled of mould. Would not recommend and would not go back. The only positive was the nice view from the balcony.
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
The view from our balconies is second to none, especially on a clear morning at sunrise as the sun rises right in front of the hotel. Unmatched and uninterrupted view of a beautiful beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I last stayed here 15 years ago and expected some upgrades, as the site mentioned major Renovations. Unfortunately that only went as far as a cheap flat screen TV (which stopped working on day 4) and painted hallways on our floor. The only thing that really changed was the room rate - that has certainly gone up.

Let's start with the positives. Position is the best in the south Sydney options, beautiful views of Cronulla Beach and literally 1 minute walk to sand, surf and great restaurants.

Now the bad. Our room looked out of date even for the '70s, let alone 2012. Carpets and furnishings were so old i expected them to come with a certificate of authentication. Curtains torn, balcony dirty, bathroom sink cracked and tiles broken. Some dinky tiny little bar fridge packed with every soft drink and beer you could imagine, we had to take everything out so we could put Dasani water bottles in. The "kitchenette" was a microwave on a bench with a sink. There was 1 bowl, no plates or cups in the cupboard. Staff sent some up after we requested them but seriously, don't the housekeepers check?

At conditioning never seemed to blow cold air, just air, and as you get direct sun in the morning it gets bloody hot. Noise from the across the road at the pub meant you can't crack the sliding for either and at night the single pane doesn't even muffle the drunks and street racers.

Fr the price, I'd expect much mo form this chain. The only reason they are rated second best hotel in Cronulla is because there's only two - and I'm surprised they made #2 to be honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked 2 rooms here over the Christmas break (10 nights) - quite expensive... averaging around $270 per night per room...
I must say, that the views were amazing (ocean views over the pristine Cronulla beach), the location is superb, and the service was very good... but the rooms were smelly, outdated, and the hotel in general needs renovation! Desperately.

Common Rydges, your name is at stake here... put your money into your hotel, and then your patrons will gladly fork your bill.

Room Tip: Ocean view, and a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is overpriced, unclean and has poor customer service
We asked for someone to take at look at our fridge as it was warm and we had bought some supplies in took 3 days and 3 phone calls to be told the maintenance person wasn't in they ask if we would like to be moved but we were checking out the next day so they replaced the fridge at long last. We found crips under the table and bed and glass in the spa. It's very dated and needs some money spent on it especially as it isn't cheap to stay in. Very disappointed will not return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
The hotel is in places showing its age, and at times we need the assistance of our guest's to point out any cleaning issues and mistakes by our staff as our staff are human and we all make mistakes. Most of the time they are not intended to inconvenience others. However over summer there is no better place to be than right across the road from the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in the Rydges Cronulla twice before, and have enjoyed our experience. This was about 10 years ago, and it doesn't look like any money has been spent on the hotel since. We checked in on the 22nd of December, for a week.
Our room had torn curtains, scuff marks all over the walls, the air conditioning was not working, the sofa bed was broken, carpet stained, furniture stained, broken tiles in the bathroom, plastic peeling off toilet seat and overall completely filthy! I asked my husband to go to the shops and get some cleaning products, so I could clean the room. The next day we asked to change rooms, and the new room wasn't much better. We would have checked out, but being a busy time of year, there wasn't many other places to stay.
We had prepaid breakfast and this varied in variety and quality everyday. We tried to order room service, and we were told that was not possible, because it was Christmas Day. If this was the case, I think we should have been told at check in, so we could have arranged something else. Our room service finally arrived, after an hour and a half, and it was incorrect!
At $500 a night (because of the Christmas period), I would never stay there again. Having many friends and family in The Shire, I have let them know that the hotel with the best location offers nothing, except an overall disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if you have to, choose high up with Ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are in the process of making some touch ups around the hotel, with the recent completion of laying carpets in to lift lobby and the painting of these areas also. The plan is to have this continued into our room in the following year. Your comments have been passed on to the Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager to rectify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Cronulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Cronulla

Address: 20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Cronulla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Cronulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Cronulla
Cronulla Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Cronulla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.