We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, expensive and dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Cronulla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Cronulla to your Saves list
Rydges Cronulla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Noisy, expensive and dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our family of 4 - 2 children and 2 adults stayed here in March 2011.We stayed in a family room for 3 nights. There was a bedroom and fold out double bed in lounge. Fold out bed was lumpy, uncomfortable, stained and was very thin. The bathroom was dirty, with mould, sand and hair in shower/bath. Towels - thin, rough, torn and poor quality. Had to ask more than once for extra towels for children. There were marks on walls, power points and glasses. We asked for a quiet room, but were given a corner room at front - extremely noisy - we had to put ear plugs in to sleep.Parking was real issue - we paid for this service - and were asked to double park under the hotel blocking other cars. Staff were actually helpful but admitted that there is no competition in area so the hotel can charge what they like. This hotel charges big dollars and calls itself luxury but is below standard. Would not recommend or stay again under any circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We appreciate all comments whether they are good or bad. I have had our housekeeping team make a conscious effort in taking the not so good towel out of circulation. I do hope you try us again, I believe we will make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    93
    56
    41
See reviews for
55
97
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at Rydges Cronulla last night for a change of scenery and pace.

We arrived at 11.30 and had no problems checking in early which was great. We were given an oceanview room on the 10th floor and couldn't have been happier with the view and service.

Unfortunately the room didn't quite live up to expectations though. Beds advertised as king single were just regular singles. Our air conditioning didn't work so we woke up in a sweat. And while most of the room had undergone a refurb in recent years, the bathroom was definitely in need of an update.

Before heading out for dinner we shared a tapas tasting plate and drink in the hotel's restaurant. The atmosphere was abuzz with locals; mostly twenty-somethings and the odd older couple. The food was very good, I'd certainly go back. The best part was that the tasting plate and 2 glasses of wine only cost $8 - Due to a pre-movie deal we took advantage of as we had tickets to a session later that night.

The following morning we took full advantage of the superb location, heading across the road for a beachfront breakfast and walk.

On checkout, service was again very friendly, however no compensation was offered for the faults in our room.

Overall a nice experience and I would go back, maybe after the next round of room upgrades though.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments.

We have had a number of renovations within the rooms, which include a flat screen TV and a Rydges Exclusive Dream Bed. Which is a bed specifically designed by AH Beard for our hotel group, and we do have a great location probably the best in Cronulla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Rydges for my holidays and loved every minute of it. We received a free upgrade when we checked in as well as a drinks voucher for being Rydges priority guests. The room had plenty of sunlight and amazing water views. We spent the evening enjoying cocktails and tapas in the restaurant. The paella was yummy! The atmosphere in the restaurant/bar was really good. Everyone seem to be enjoying themselves. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Great spot for a getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you kindly for that review, we certainly are very lucky with the spot we are in. Minutes from the beach, parks, movie theatres etc. The perfect place for a short getaway, especially now that the sun has returned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

On checkin we were greeted by a snobby clerk who basically looked down her nose whilst chastising me for not booking the room with secure parking and told me that I would have to double park as there were no spots left and checking in so late and that it would be an extra $15 per day, and I was prepared to pay for that. The ocean view room that was booked had a city view and a side view of the ocean. When one books for an ocean view room one would expect a view or room facing onto the ocean and not the city. The bathroom is very outdated with mould in the tiles and stains up the tiles from the floor. The bed was supposed to be a queen but was a double but very comfortable. The two bedside lights didn't work and th shower head sprayed water everywhere when u adjusted it. On mentioning this to the staff they just smiledand basically said it was operator error which was not the case. On a final note and after booking directly thru Rydges with Priority Guest membership it makes me think I don't need to be loyal to them with their hotels as I was simply let down them and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
First of all thank you for your feedback. Parking over the long weekend was an issue due to the number of guests at the hotel, and i do apologise for the inconvenience caused. I have spoken to the staff regarding this matter and we will work hard to ensure we don't cause un-necessary inconvenience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We've stayed at Rydges on many previous occasions (there is a serious lack of accommodation in Cronulla!) after attending family functions and have been disappointed with the general run-down state of the rooms - torn dusty curtains, worn carpet, cracked tiles etc. However, this time we were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were lovely (we had adjoining room with friends) and we were on one of the higher floors so the noise from the street was greatly reduced. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay this time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Since your last review we have spent a bit of time on getting our rooms up to a great standard that our guests demand. We are also in the process of upgrading our sofa beds, carpets and few smaller items which should be completed by Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Looking sad and forlorne, signage on 2nd floor outside lift is wrong, you have to turn right for room 210, but the signage says left.
Carpets badly stained.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you for taking time out to place a comment. I have spoken with Maintenance and we shall get the signage fixed as soon as possible, to be quite honest no one has mentioned this previously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Rydges Cronulla for the weekend in August. My daugters birthday is in August and she loves the beach so we wanted to stay somewhere close to the beach! It also has a several playgrounds close to the beach which took up most of our time. And of course shopping was very close by. We were very impressed by the food, service and cleanliness of our rooms and the whole hotel. The staff were friendly from the moment we arrived. And the food was top quality for both kids and my husband and I. We were so impressed by Rydges Cronulla that we will be coming back again for my husbands birthday!!!!! Thank you Rydges!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla_GM, General Manager at Rydges Cronulla, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Great to hear you had a wonderful time with us, and your right we have everything nearby, especially for families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Cronulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Cronulla

Address: 20-26 The Kingsway, Cronulla, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cronulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Cronulla 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Cronulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Cronulla
Cronulla Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Cronulla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.