We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, fresh & delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokkuri Sake Wine Bar

Tokkuri Sake Wine Bar
Shop 16, 450 Miller Street, Cammeray, North Sydney, New South Wales 2062, Australia
+61 2 9922 2288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Cammeray
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Japanese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fast, fresh & delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Always friendly, fast & attentive service with a smile.
Fresh & yummy food, never had a bad experience here.. Love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Japanese on the Nth Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

After coming back from Kyoto and still very much in holiday mode we initially approached Tokkuri with some resistance. Our experience with Japanese restaurants on the North Shore has not been great, however I am so pleased to have trusted recommendations for this new restaurant.
We kicked off with a main mixed sashimi plate. It was beautifully presented - the Tuna was stunning and the Mackerel very fresh. We then had Miso Soup, Spicy Tuna Rolls and Soft Shell Crab.
Very impressed with our waiter as he informed us that the Austrian Riesling was very sweet, so we opted for a Frogmore Creek Riesling, which was a cheaper option but better suited to our food.
For those who have eaten at 'Sake' or 'Sushi E' - you will be astonished at how reasonable and good the food is at 'Tokkuri' in comparison.
I really loved the interior, unpretentious and trendy modern Japanese style. Sure it may cater for families, but don't be deterred.
We both really enjoyed our experience at this restaurant. It isn't fine Japanese dining, but I think it can hold it's own against some of the trendier places. There is no scene but the food is great.
Definitely will be going back. My new local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good traditional as well as creative Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Tokkuri many times and have never been disappointed.

The restuarant serves traditional Japanese dishes (such as sashimi, sushi, tempura) using high quality ingredients and good presentation. It also has a large range of creative Japanese style sharing dishes (shusai), again with high quality ingredients, which provide many great tastes. Favourites are miso cod, popcorn tempura prawns, miso eggplant and duck breast. Prices are reasonable although they seem to have crept up as the restaurant's popularity has grown.

The wine list is pretty comprehensive but a bit pricey and there is also a wide range of sakis.

I have always ended my meals at Tokkuri totally satisfied with the flavours as well as the bill!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Go back again an again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you like Japanese food - try this restaurant, you will end up going more than once. If you have never had Japanese this is a good restaurant to go to - not outlandishly expensive, good quality food

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best duck pancakes but be wary of the time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tokkuri has a promotion on at the moment. 20% off if you order by 6.30 and are out by 7.30. Great idea! What could possibly go wrong? Well if you order a glass of wine after 6.30 the deal is off! Anything ordered after 6.30 makes the deal null and void. I was so cross when told that tonight that I asked to speak to the manager. Then guess what? The 20 % discount was still given to us! This is deal that has an edge of dishonesty to it and a good restaurant like Tokkuri needs to think this through. The food is still very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokkuri Sake Wine Bar also viewed

Cammeray, North Sydney
Cammeray, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Cammeray, North Sydney
 

Been to Tokkuri Sake Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokkuri Sake Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.