We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood And Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petar's Seafood

Petar's Seafood
373 Bay St, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2216, Australia
(02) 9567 7402
Improve this listing
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Angle, Nsw, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Seafood And Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Situated on the Grand Parade overlooking Botany Bay, Petar's has upscale food in a low-key atmosphere. The fillet au poivre, the soft-shell crab and the grilled snapper were wildly different yet equally delicious. It is also a great spot for people watching through the window, as immigrants, surfers, children and young ladies cruising for Mr. Right in the nightclubs along the Grand Parade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food with Generous Serves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Haven't been to Petars since 2005 but after having read some of the reviews after booking I was slightly worried. But after going there last Saturday this is an old family restaurant with excellent food. The serves were quite generous and quite easily share an entre as it is substantial. The mains were as indicated with large serves and very fresh seafood with good old home cooked vegetables cooked to perfection.For a good seafood restaurant on the main beach area I thought the prices were quite cheap for the quality. I was really impressed after having been to other local restaurants with the same calibre. The decor could be improved, but location is perfect. Was surprised at the number of people not been there this night but that would explain the poor reviews by some people on this website.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Worst service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was disgusted by the way we had been treated from when we first entered.The so called owner didn't even ask us if we would like to be seated until I actually asked.I had had a booking and told this to the rude man and he just ignored me and proceeded to organise another table then when I asked another waitress if we could be seated then that rude man decided to organise a table without even putting cutlerly or serviettes!!!!! To make things worse the food was very salty and cold and my husbands so called 'fresh' seafood was anything but..I will never again visit this restaurant.I will also advice anyone to not waste there time eating at this pathetic restaurant!!!!!!!!!Its not even worth rating......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Father's day lunch disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Our booking was for 1.00pm on fathers day. At 3.00pm we were still waiting for our 3 Seafood Platters, while other diners who arrived after us were being served their platters before us. When they did arrive no-one was really interested in eating anymore. We were told they would be worth waiting for, but I beg to differ.Very disappointing. The 2 children on our table had ordered nuggets and chips and even they were still waiting at 3.00pm. As you can imagine, they were hungry and very unhappy and so were we. Thanks for spoiling our fathers day luncheon. We won't be back and we certainly don't advise anyone else setting themselves up for a big disappointment. Service was terrible and the seafood platters were not any better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There's a reason why all the other restaurants along General Holmes Dr & Bay St, were full and this one was empty!!!! There wasn't any service, other than to take our order which wasn't what we ordered anyway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petar's Seafood also viewed

Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
 
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
 

Been to Petar's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petar's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.